Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good bread, goes faster then candy in this house! I follow the instructions exactly and use the 2lb setting on our machine, basic, light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this bread yesterday and followed the ingredients as close as possible. The only thing I changed was replacing my water with regular drip coffee as another user suggested because I didn't have instant. It's hard to say if this changed anything, but instant coffee just isn't something we keep on hand. It turned out great and I'm honestly perplexed by all the reviews that describe the dough as gloppy or too wet because my dough was not like that at all. I'm glad I didn't cut back on the liquid - it would have been too dry! Anyway, it turned out great! I had a slice with dinner and my husband polished off the entire loaf in the course of the evening so I will be making 2 loaves of this bread today. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
The flavor of this bread is nice, but as I remember about steakhouse wheat bread, it's a bit gooey in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Made this bread yesterday. Flavor has "deepened" overnight. Very soft and makes a nice toast. Substitutes for what i didn't have cocoa/nestles quick. and instant coffee granules made an extra strong cup of coffee and used it instead of water.Just the right size loaf for a small family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was fantastic. My only change was using this morning's coffee instead of water and instant coffee granules. I will absolutely make this again, but I think my breadmaker can make at least 1.5 times this recipe, if not more, so next time I will try that. *** I've made this a few times now, and I always use the morning coffee, and I've been making a 1.5 loaf batch (12 servings) also, I've been adding a heaping spoonful of vital wheat gluten. This makes it so fluffy and amazing. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Love this recipe! The only change I made was adding 1 tablespoon powdered wheat gluten to help it rise a little better. Great sweet, hearty taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Wonderful recipe and very easy - we will make this again and again. I have a cusinart convection bread maker and this recipe made a perfect 1lb loaf, light crust white bread setting. After looking at the reviews I too used 3/4 cup brewed coffee instead of the water and the instant coffee (since I don't have instant coffee). That worked well. I used 1.5t of yeast instead of 1.25 and the rise was perfect. As others have said, at moments throughout the process I thought the dough was a bit wet. However it bakes up to a nice, soft flavorful bread. Only caution is that even on the light crust setting the bottom of the loaf started to get a bit dark. I pulled it out of the bread machine about 7 minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I hadn't made bread in my bread machine for several years. I was a little worried, but it turned out fantastic. I did add some flour a little at a time (I used all-purpose) to get it to the right consistency. Yes, it was 'goopy' before balancing out the flour. It rose nicely. I set it on the normal setting and light crust. I also added some ground flax seed for extra nutrition. The flavor is awesome. The danger is that I want to eat the whole thing myself! The size of the loaf is larger than I anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I set my machine for 1 1/2 lb loaf with a light crust. I used whole wheat bread flour & whole wheat pastry flour, so I had to add more warm water.I did not have coffee granules, so I replaced the 3/4 water with lukewarm coffee. I also used agave syrup in place of the honey. It's super sweet so I skipped the TB of sugar. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Tried it first time...there wasn't enough so I have adjusted the recipe for 12 servings! I make this regularly now and tend to use leftover brewed (regular) coffee in place of the water and coffee granules. Top with honey butter as soon as it is done....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States