Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a really nice recipe. I loved it and would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Yummmmmmmmmm! Here's the deal. Opted to use KA instead of bread machine ... had to add apx 1/4 cup of flour to turn into manageable dough (still VERY soft and sticky). Let rise for an hour, punched - weighed in at 18oz ball - then shaped into 6 3oz *mini loaves*. Snipped tops of those and let rise for 45 minutes then baked at 325 for 18-20 minutes. Wonderfully soft with light slightly chewy center. There's juuuuuust enough sweetness in the loaves to make you running back for more (and more...and more). Seriously - I had to make myself stay away from them. Would be great with a honey-butter. Pain in the butt to make this way ... but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I followed it as written, save for using regular coffee instead of instant. It came out nicely & I like that the poster noted to use the regular, light settings when making this. The flavor is unique and the type of bread that makes you feel warm inside when you eat it. We served it with beef over pasta, garden salad & homemade lime aid. Great stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, and I make 3-4 loaves of bread a week for my family, but this loaf did not turn out like it should have. It was too dry, so I added some warm water. When the dough felt perfect, I kneaded it and let it rise. It did not rise up like my other loaves, and after baking it the bread turned out like a loaf of banana bread rather than a loaf of wheat. I will not make it again. I did not want to rate it 1 star, but that is what I felt it deserved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good bread, goes faster then candy in this house! I follow the instructions exactly and use the 2lb setting on our machine, basic, light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this bread yesterday and followed the ingredients as close as possible. The only thing I changed was replacing my water with regular drip coffee as another user suggested because I didn't have instant. It's hard to say if this changed anything, but instant coffee just isn't something we keep on hand. It turned out great and I'm honestly perplexed by all the reviews that describe the dough as gloppy or too wet because my dough was not like that at all. I'm glad I didn't cut back on the liquid - it would have been too dry! Anyway, it turned out great! I had a slice with dinner and my husband polished off the entire loaf in the course of the evening so I will be making 2 loaves of this bread today. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
The flavor of this bread is nice, but as I remember about steakhouse wheat bread, it's a bit gooey in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Made this bread yesterday. Flavor has "deepened" overnight. Very soft and makes a nice toast. Substitutes for what i didn't have cocoa/nestles quick. and instant coffee granules made an extra strong cup of coffee and used it instead of water.Just the right size loaf for a small family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was fantastic. My only change was using this morning's coffee instead of water and instant coffee granules. I will absolutely make this again, but I think my breadmaker can make at least 1.5 times this recipe, if not more, so next time I will try that. *** I've made this a few times now, and I always use the morning coffee, and I've been making a 1.5 loaf batch (12 servings) also, I've been adding a heaping spoonful of vital wheat gluten. This makes it so fluffy and amazing. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Love this recipe! The only change I made was adding 1 tablespoon powdered wheat gluten to help it rise a little better. Great sweet, hearty taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States