Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
5 stars because the loaf came out beautifully - I made as written but doubled it. However (never having had the "original" steakhouse bread) I found this overly sweet - next time I'll cut out the extra 2 tbsp of sugar I think....or at the very least substitute 1 tbsp molasses for some extra nutrition instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is now my all time favorite bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a pretty decent copycat recipe. I got lots of great feedback when I made this for a church event. The dough is REALLY sticky though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Just made a loaf this morning and am making another because the first one is gone. My daughter who is a real bread lover gave this an enthusiastic two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I first tried this recipe as is, and found that it did not rise nicely in my bread machine (but it had a great flavor). I doubled the recipe, put it on the dough cycle in the bread machine, and made 6 mini loaves (I let them rise in the pans for about 40 minutes), and baked in the oven. 3 of the loaves were eaten immediately--GREAT bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carwile2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Tastes just like Outback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salliek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I have made the copycat version of outbacks mini loaves for years and have loved them! I saw this one here and noticed that it was the same ingredients, but for a bread machine, so I had to try it! This recipe does make a very small 1 lb loaf. My bread machine only does 1.5 lb as the smallest loaf size, so next time I will double this recipe for my bread machine to get a more consistent result. I do have to say this came out a little dense and wasnt as good as the mini loaves that I make. But I do think that could of been because the dough was too wet. I know in the other recipe, for the mini loaves, the dough is very very sticky and they turn out fine. So I figured that I would leave this one alone and see if it would give me the same result in the bread machine. It didnt, so next time I will for sure add a little more flour to get it the right stickiness. Overall though, it was very close to the copycat mini loaf recipe. I cant wait to try it again with those alterations to see how good it turns out! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
When I am at the local Steakhouse I usually fill up on the mini loafs, before the steak even arrives. So, when I found this recipe I HAD to try it. I have made this recipe several times as listed, and each time it was great. Then I changed it just a little, first since I am single I halved the recipe, and still used the breadmachine... still great. Then I changed the honey for molasses, even better. Then just started using the breadmachine to mix the dough, and used mini loaf pans to bake in... now with a herb crusted steak, garlic mashed potatoes, and grilled veggies... I no longer have to go to the steakhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
The best bread I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Awesome, totally loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States