Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is delicious; not as sweet as I expected, but that can be tweaked. I made this recipe using the bread machine but took the dough out before it rose for the last time, rolling smaller loaves and making the bread in mini loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseytheriveter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly regarding ingredients, but I made it by hand into dinner rolls - these are delicious! Everyone liked these! I was interested because of the different ingredients, they work really well together - I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Best bread I've made yet. I don't understand the folks who are complaining about "what size loaf" and under or overbaking. The recipe is specifically for a bread machine, which takes all that guesswork out. The only change I made was eliminating the white sugar (I figured a 1/4 cup of honey was quite enough sweetness, and I was right!). If you put everything in a bread machine like it says, it comes out wonderful. I too thought it was very sticky-looking, but I didn't mess around with it and it ended up being my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very, very good, close enough to the restaurant recipe that you really can't notice a difference. Awesome with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildwing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Used 3/4 c leftover coffee instead of the water and instant coffee granules. Proofed the yeast with the warmed wet ingredients before adding to bread machine. Omitted the sugar. Made several small loaves (oiled rectangular ramikins) for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
great recipe. only problem i had was with the honey. i buy locally made and my supplier has only light honey and it has a bad after taste (all light honey i've tried has the same after taste). i prefer the dark, but his bees didn't collect any for the last few years. i my try corn syrup or molasses next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This bread is AWSOME!! My kids go nuts when I make this bread. It makes the whole house smell good when it's baking LOVE IT!!! It tastes great with a little honey butter on it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wellsme29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wonderful!! My bread machine just arrived today and this was the second recipe I tried. The only change I made was to substitute cold coffee for part of the liquid because I didn't have any instant coffee. This was delicious and came out perfectly in my one pound bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! I made no changes to this 1 lb. recipe and my husband and I loved it! Very easy, moist and yummy! Next time I'll modify it for my 1.5 lb. bread machine and it will be my "go to" recipe for whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Awesome recipe! I used my Oster 5814 on cycle 4 and this came out beautifully! Definitely will be a staple from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States