Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very good just as written. Note: if you add 3 tablespoons of soy flour to the measuring cup before adding the bread flour, the baked bread will stay fresh longer (this also adds extra nutrition). However, soy flour smells funny, so don't be alarmed. Once baked, it will smell delicious just like bread should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was a good, flavorful bread, but not the best wheat bread recipe I have tried. It was a little sweet for my tastes, and it didn't keep for as long as I am used to with a wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This bread is DELICIOUS!! I LOVE it. We don't drink coffee so i put in some Pero granules, a malted barley drink, and I used 1 3/4 C whole wheat flour and a 1/4 cup white flour instead, and it was light and to die for. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was so good! I realized once I started making it that I didn't have any wheat flour, so I used all bread flour. It was delicious! It still comes out brown like whole wheat bread, so who is going to know the difference. Looking forward to trying it again with the wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
It was a little dense for my taste but it had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Just took this out of the bread maker. I am very happy with the results. Didn't know how it would taste with cocoa and coffee, however it is very good. Next time I will omit the sugar as I find it a bit too sweet. The sweetness is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I have Cuisinart CBK-100. I followed the recipe exactly and set the machine to Basic/White, 1-pound loaf, and light crust. The bread was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I have made this a few times now... The first couple of times it was kind of hard, but I used a different bread machine last night and OH MY GOD!!!!!!! Texture, taste, everything perfect!!!! Tasted just like Longhorn's!!! Served with a potato bake casserole that I made up and a salad. Definitely using that same breadmaker for this recipe EVERY TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was soooo good. I didn't have wheat flour, or "bread" flour for that matter. I just used 2 cups of plain white flour and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Very good! Turned out well in my bread machine and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Elizabeth Musgrove
Home Town: Wakefield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States