Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Wow! Warm with a little butter and honey... Holy yum! This was amazing! I used brewed coffee on place of instant, 1.5 loaf with light crust and boy, oh boy did it work well! Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great tasting and easy to make recipe. I sometimes add two tablespoons sundried tomatoes and one teaspoon each of fresh herbs such as rosemary, basil and oregano for a tasty savory bread. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Labit Stricks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is the best bread I've every made in my machine. It does make a small loaf, so you'll want to set it to a 1 of 1.5 lb loaf. Also, I didn't have instant coffee, just regular, so I added 1/2 t. ground coffee. More honey might be a nice addition too. I also took out about 10 minutes early and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was so disappointed in this recipe. My husband usually complements my cooking but he told me this was terrible!! AND I would have to agree. I love steakhouse bread but I guess I will have to keep trying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I doubled all ingredients and it made the perfect loaf! I didn't have the coffee so I didn't put it in and the bread is wonderful!! I have made it twice in a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
this bread has a really great texture, and a crispy crust! I've been having trouble with breadmaker recipes producing weird textures, but this is nice and chewy! I didn't feel like using 1/4 cup of honey, so I used about 1/8 c. honey and 1/8 c. molasses. Also, I didn't use the extra 1T of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Served warm is spot-on delicious. I increased all ingred by 1/3 to make 9x5 loaf.. The recipe calls for 2 c flour total, and 3 c flour is standard for a 9x5 loaf. Loaf rose great (pic uploaded to this recipe's page). The taste is right on the money, and the texture is wonderfully soft and like mini-loaves in steakhouse. Made this by hand, as I do all bread. If you haven't read process on other bread reviews, here's how: Warm a small bowl, put 95-110 degree F water in bowl. Immediately put yeast in water, stir together. If yeast clumps break clumps apart w/ fingers, let mix sit 8-10 min to activate yeast. Meanwhile, put flour in lrg bowl. When yeast ready pour into flour and let yeast-mix & flour only get acquainted 3-5 min. Then add all oth ingred into bowl. Spray spatula w/ cooking spray, blend all ingred together well. Pour dough onto lightly floured surface, knead 8-10 min. Clean lrg bowl, grease w/ butter or ckng spray. Put dough in. Zap empty micro 3 min. Put ktchn towel over bowl, put in warmed micro til doubles in size. Take out, punch dough to deflate, let sit 4-5 min. Knead on floured surface again, shape into size of bottom of a 9x5 loaf pan. Put in loaf pan, zap empty micro 3 min, put loaf in warmed micro (no towel over it this time), let rise til large but not spilling. Bake 350F 25 min. Remv fr oven, cool in pan 10 min, remv fr pan & cool compltly on wire rack. If dough doesn't rise, water was too hot or cold or yeast too old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Awesome bread! I doubled this for my Zojurushi machine and it turned out perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I was looking for a recipe like this - and this one was it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
LOVE this bread. Beautiful crust, great taste. (But we're at a really high elevation in a dry climate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States