Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was really good. I did not use a bread machine but used all the same ingredients called for. I first dissolved my yeast in warm coffee. I then added my brown sugar and let it set a few minutes to get frothy. Next, I added the salt, molasses and oil. I stirred this well and then added in the cocoa powder. One cup at a time, I added the whole wheat flour, rye flour, and 1 cup bread flour. I then kneaded in the last cup just until the bread was smooth and elastic(it did not take the full last cup). This has a great texture and was super easy to make. It made two medium sized loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Amazing bread. It has a good rich flavor, a wonderful chewy texture, a looked great. It is what I had hoped it would be. This is a keeper recipe. I do not use a bread machine, but use a kitchenaid mixer with the dough hook. I did not have any oil but olive on hand, so I used 1/4 c of butter. I heated all the liquid ingredients including the butter to 140 degrees(my house is cold right now, including the metal mixing bowl). I put one package of the rapid rise yeast in with the brown sugar, king arthur's w.w. flour, rye flour, salt, mixed it up with the dough hook, and then poured in the liquid. Mixed it well and grdually added the remaining bread flour. I kneaded the dough with the mixer. I let the dough rest while I cleaned up maybe ten minutes. I then pulled the dough off the dough hook and shaped it into a ball, put it in a greased aluminum pie pan and let it rise to double in bulk. I brushed it with egg and put the oatmeal on top. Baked it for 35 minutes. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
this was so easy to make and I left it in my bread machine to run..the bread came out beautiful and it tasted very good...close to the steakhouse I am thinking of. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is a very flavorful black bread and well-worth making again and again. I do recommend increasing the brown sugar from 2 Tbsps to 4 Tbsps - it does not seem to add sweetness to the bread, but it does increase the fullness of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This has become a go to recipe for black bread and bread bowls. I use 1 1/2 T Cocoa powder and regular strength coffee. One batch make 4 small bread bowls which are great for chowders. These are also good for hot dips. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. It was so easy, my whole family loved it. You should probably be aware of whether or not you like this kind of dark bread before you try to make it however. That way you could avoid feeding picky children something they would say tastes like dogfood. My husband gave it five stars as well, and it was the first recipe of many that I have tried from this site that I have bothered to review. Thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Made a very good bread, although not *exactly* like my favorite steak house. I am giving it four stars only because by following the recipe as written, the dough came out of my bread machine very sticky and I had to knead in another 1/2 C of flour by hand to make it workable. I think this affected the flavor and texture of the bread somewhat. I plan to make another batch very soon and I think I will just let it bake in the bread machine (as it doesn't care whether or not the dough's sticky. ;) Perhaps without so much extra flour and handling, the flavor/texture will be closer to what I was hoping for. All in all a great recipe, though, thanks very much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very close to the steak house bread. I made my coffee a little too strong but otherwise it was good. The dough was very sticky as others had mentioned. I used the kitchenaid mixer but once I rolled it out with some flour the stickiness disscipated. I made one large loaf and it was very good warm with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Pretty good. Not the best rye bread I've ever baked, but still good. I did mix mine in my Kitchenaid. I didn't have the problem of a sticky dough like some others did and I didn’t add any extra flour. I let it rise, shaped it and put in the refrigerator so I could bake it in the morning. I did give it an egg wash and a sprinkling of oatmeal before I baked it. It came out looking beautiful. The flavor is more of a wheat/rye combination and a dense loaf. Great toasted and would be great used in a tuna melt. It's not a loaf that I would use for Reuben’s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alcester, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I was looking for a bread recipe like the restaurants make and I finally found it. This bread is great. Thank you for sharing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States