Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Made a very good bread, although not *exactly* like my favorite steak house. I am giving it four stars only because by following the recipe as written, the dough came out of my bread machine very sticky and I had to knead in another 1/2 C of flour by hand to make it workable. I think this affected the flavor and texture of the bread somewhat. I plan to make another batch very soon and I think I will just let it bake in the bread machine (as it doesn't care whether or not the dough's sticky. ;) Perhaps without so much extra flour and handling, the flavor/texture will be closer to what I was hoping for. All in all a great recipe, though, thanks very much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I thought this was the recipe I was looking for. It came out looking great but tased horrible. My grandaughter told me it tasted like dogfood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. It was so easy, my whole family loved it. You should probably be aware of whether or not you like this kind of dark bread before you try to make it however. That way you could avoid feeding picky children something they would say tastes like dogfood. My husband gave it five stars as well, and it was the first recipe of many that I have tried from this site that I have bothered to review. Thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Pretty good. Not the best rye bread I've ever baked, but still good. I did mix mine in my Kitchenaid. I didn't have the problem of a sticky dough like some others did and I didn’t add any extra flour. I let it rise, shaped it and put in the refrigerator so I could bake it in the morning. I did give it an egg wash and a sprinkling of oatmeal before I baked it. It came out looking beautiful. The flavor is more of a wheat/rye combination and a dense loaf. Great toasted and would be great used in a tuna melt. It's not a loaf that I would use for Reuben’s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alcester, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very close to the steak house bread. I made my coffee a little too strong but otherwise it was good. The dough was very sticky as others had mentioned. I used the kitchenaid mixer but once I rolled it out with some flour the stickiness disscipated. I made one large loaf and it was very good warm with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great success in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porto Alegre, Rio Grande Do Sul, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was fabulous! I cut the recipe in half... but experimenting showed to keep the same amount of yeast. I also go a little heavy on the cocoa...yummy. I just use the kitchen aid with the dough hook and don't bother with any additional kneading, it works just fine, but takes longer to rise than I thought, probably because my house is always pretty cool. So delicious, this is by far my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I was looking for a bread recipe like the restaurants make and I finally found it. This bread is great. Thank you for sharing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
this was so easy to make and I left it in my bread machine to run..the bread came out beautiful and it tasted very good...close to the steakhouse I am thinking of. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is an excellent bread that I have made a few times over the past couple of weeks. My grandson loves this bread! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States