Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
To Misscarolb who rated this a 1 star, you must have done something really wrong and that is unfair to rate. When making bread, if you are not used to making bread regular, you don't have the touch. Bread baking is an art and if you don't have it, it will not turn out. This is a nice black bread recipe and really pretty healthy for you. I use olive oil instead of the vegetable oil and it is not bad bread at all. Any time you use wheat/rye flour instead of white, you are choosing a healthier bread which is so much better for you. I hope you will try this recipe if you like black bread. It is so good with a nice steak and a little red wine. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I couldn't even finish my first bite and I generally LOVE black bread. I followed the directions to the 'T', I can't figure out what happened. I'll move on to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great recipe. I didn't even have rye flower, I had to substitute whole wheat and they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was really good. I did not use a bread machine but used all the same ingredients called for. I first dissolved my yeast in warm coffee. I then added my brown sugar and let it set a few minutes to get frothy. Next, I added the salt, molasses and oil. I stirred this well and then added in the cocoa powder. One cup at a time, I added the whole wheat flour, rye flour, and 1 cup bread flour. I then kneaded in the last cup just until the bread was smooth and elastic(it did not take the full last cup). This has a great texture and was super easy to make. It made two medium sized loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was pretty darn close to the bread I've enjoyed for years at Black Angus restaurants! I think next time I'll reduce the amount of molasses a little bit, though, because that flavor was a bit strong. Also, I had to work approximately 1/2 cup more bread flour into the dough so it wasn't sticky, but I know that could have had something to do with the fact that we've had a lot of rain recently, so my flour was probably pretty humid. Overall a great bread recipe that I will make again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I cut this recipe in half, only because I didn't need a monster loaf. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this bread. I had everything but rye flour, I used a mixture of wheat flour and bread flour to make up the difference. I proofed the yeast with the warm coffee, sugar and molasses for 10 minutes, then added all the dry. I kneaded the dough with my hook for five minutes, than set it to rise for an hour in a covered greased bowl. After it doubled, I formed it and set it to rise in my loaf pan for another hour or until it doubled again. This was done at about a half hour at 350*. The whole house smells homey and wonderful. I couldn't wait to dig into it. Very tasty bread. Chewy and dense. Really a snap to make. I liked the other steakhouse bread from this site a little better, not by much. I think the molasses combined with the coffee and cocoa was a little too deep for me. I like the use of honey a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
good bread, fairly easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I guess this just wasn't what I was looking for. Wasn't a REALLY dark bread. I made these as rolls and they were very dense. My daughter loved them though and ate the leftovers over the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I've been testing various bread recipes to find the perfect roll to serve at my family's Thanksgiving celebration, and this was clearly a winner! The coffee was a crucial ingredient, I think - the bread ends up with a sour but sweet taste, which is delicious. We had already eaten dinner by the time the bread came out of the oven, but my parents couldn't stop themselves from taking an extra slice after trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This bread is absolutely AMAZING! Didn't change a thing with the recipe. I did divide into just 4 small loaves, and baked for 25 minutes. They were absolutely fabulous! Tasted very similar to "Black Angus" restaurant bread. It was very moist,great flavor, fresh and SO GOOD! A keeper for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States