Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this recipe without a bread machine. I proofed my yeast in the warm coffee, so I knew it was good, but then the loaves didn't rise much, so I was worried. They also didn't rise much in the oven, so I thought I was going to end up with bricks. However, after cooling, slicing, and tasting, I am pleased. There is a slight bitter taste (probably from the coffee), but I like it. Here are my changes: honey instead of molasses, because thats what I had. Hazelnut coffee leftover from this morning. Half olive oil, half butter instead of vegetable oil. I also used a little less bread flour, but added some wheat germ and flax seed. Very good, unique recipe. Now I have to figure out what to do with 2 whole loaves of bread... lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was very good. Don't have a bread machine so I used the kitchen aid following standard bread making directions. This made 4 mini loaves. The only things I would do differently next time is add a touch more brown sugar to give it that Outback Steakhouse flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very good. For something different, add some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Reduce the amount of coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was good but mine had a slight bitter taste. Don't know if it was my coffee or if it was the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
we're usually a fan of coffee recipes and cocoa, but this was not a hit. For my sons who LOVE break, it was just so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The loaf turned out beautifully. Would have liked it to be a bit sweeter though. I can't have coffee so I used double bergamot earl Grey tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This bread prompted me to make my first review. We absolutely loved this loaf. My 9 year old son told me it was the best bread that he had ever tasted and kept begging me for more. It was such a full flavoured dense loaf and went so well with our roast beef and gravy dinner. It also made the best sandwiches the following day for lunch with some 6 year Balderson aged white cheddar cheese and fresh vine ripened tomatoes. I followed the recipe exactly and made the whole thing in the bread maker and it turned out perfectly. I am making another loaf in the bread maker as I write this. Thanks so much for such a great recipe for our regular loaf rotation schedule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I thought these were just a tad bit too salty, but otherwise they were fantastic! They had a delicious dense, nutty flavor and each roll was scrumptiously heavy and chewy. I loved these rolls a lot, and will definitely make them again. Perhaps jack up the sugar a bit and lower the salt next time? I don't know, but they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Wow, this bread is fantastic. Thank you so much for posting it. I made it sort of spur of the moment for small dinner with myself and 2 co-workers. I was kind of taking a chance, because bread can be tricky sometimes. It turned out beautifully and they went crazy for it and so I sent them home with the 1/2 loaf that was left. It was so easy to make, I can make another tomorrow. Very easy to knead, and just a beautiful, impressive bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States