Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
i had high hopes for this recipe & it just turned out ok...based upon other reviews, i halved the molasses to 1/8c & substituted the other 1/8c with honey, & i made sure not to make the coffee too strong. i followed the recipe as written otherwise, & made it in my bread maker with none of the stickiness issues that others had noted. i think i'll try the recipe again, but will add another 2tbsp of brown sugar like others have advised to help the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justginster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
It needs a little sweetening, maybe honey instead of brown sugar, but still a good, if different taste. The loaves didn't shape well and they smelled like really strong coffee, but they tasted better than I thought they would. Maybe they just need some restaurant style cinnamon butter....I am updating my review: I changed the molasses to a "heavy" maple syrup, cut back to about half the salt, & added (about 3 tsps) caroway seeds and I got a wonderful pumpernickel bread.....perfect amount of sweetness! It cooks best in 2 (small) 5x8 loaf pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this recipe without a bread machine. I proofed my yeast in the warm coffee, so I knew it was good, but then the loaves didn't rise much, so I was worried. They also didn't rise much in the oven, so I thought I was going to end up with bricks. However, after cooling, slicing, and tasting, I am pleased. There is a slight bitter taste (probably from the coffee), but I like it. Here are my changes: honey instead of molasses, because thats what I had. Hazelnut coffee leftover from this morning. Half olive oil, half butter instead of vegetable oil. I also used a little less bread flour, but added some wheat germ and flax seed. Very good, unique recipe. Now I have to figure out what to do with 2 whole loaves of bread... lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was very good. Don't have a bread machine so I used the kitchen aid following standard bread making directions. This made 4 mini loaves. The only things I would do differently next time is add a touch more brown sugar to give it that Outback Steakhouse flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very good. For something different, add some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Reduce the amount of coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was good but mine had a slight bitter taste. Don't know if it was my coffee or if it was the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
we're usually a fan of coffee recipes and cocoa, but this was not a hit. For my sons who LOVE break, it was just so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The loaf turned out beautifully. Would have liked it to be a bit sweeter though. I can't have coffee so I used double bergamot earl Grey tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This bread prompted me to make my first review. We absolutely loved this loaf. My 9 year old son told me it was the best bread that he had ever tasted and kept begging me for more. It was such a full flavoured dense loaf and went so well with our roast beef and gravy dinner. It also made the best sandwiches the following day for lunch with some 6 year Balderson aged white cheddar cheese and fresh vine ripened tomatoes. I followed the recipe exactly and made the whole thing in the bread maker and it turned out perfectly. I am making another loaf in the bread maker as I write this. Thanks so much for such a great recipe for our regular loaf rotation schedule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States