Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. I will probably add a little more sweetener next time, as I like it a little sweeter. I pulled the rolls out of the oven and immediately ate 3! The only substitution I made was using strong black tea instead of coffee (coffee gives me an instant migraine so I don't keep any on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I used instant coffee and I guess what holds true for wine and cooking is true for coffee and baking:if you wouldn't drink it don't use it in recipes. Next time I'll make sure to make extra coffee in the morning for this bread. I don't have a bread machine, just used the KitchenAid. I used about a cup less of flour. My kids loved them, husband wouldn't touch "brown" baked goods. Next time I'll make bread bowls instead of having them beside the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I thought these were pretty good, my husband (who loves molasses) loved them. I proofed the yeast in the warm coffe with sugar, and kneaded all of the ingredients together. Put in greased bowl, and let double (2 hrs). Shape into loaves/rolls and let double. Bake accordingly. Next time, I would cut the molasses in half, just for personal preference. I also think that making them into small loaves (like at a restaurant) as opposed to rolls is a better approach, as they aren't so huge and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Fun to make, spent about $20 on all the flour and it got me to thinking I should just BUY a loaf of it! haha! But I bought all the stuff and made it, and now I'm going to have to KEEP making it to use all the ingredients up, but that's okay. Mine did turn out a bit dense. I'm a beginner bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.BJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
If you don't like coffee, don't try this bread! My household are not coffee drinkers, and none of us can eat this bread! Truly inedible because of the overpowering coffee taste. I might try it again and substitute something for the coffee as it has a great texture, just a bad taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
excellent recipe! beautiful looking results....i will make this again. when it sez it rises fast...they mean it! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrispy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I just made a loaf of this bread, I cant believe how high this bread rose. I made the dough in my bread machine, when the dough cycle was complete I put it into a greased 9x5 loaf pan and let it rise another 45 minutes then baked it for 40 minutes at 375. I was thrilled when I took it out of the oven to see how high it rose it smells heavenly havent tasted yet it is still cooling, but I know its going to be wonderful. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My first attempt at making bread in my used ($20) bread machine and it came out pretty good. Not quite the same flavor as the steakhouse bread I was anticipating, but good, nonetheless. The recipe states to separate into twelves to make rolls and let me tell you they are HUGE! I think it would be better to make them half that size or 24 rolls. Next time I will try making some mini loaves. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States