Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe except added 5 tablespoons of brown sugar and honey instead of molasses (didn't have any). This bread is wonderful. Four stars because it took awhile for the loaf to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yummy! I actually let it cook in the bread machine and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great bread. I increase the brown sugar to suit our taste, and I'm careful not to brew the coffee too strong (it has the potential of overwhelming the overall flavor). I almost always bake the entire loaf in my breadmaker with wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I'm VERY new at attempting to make bread/rolls, etc. Basically anything with yeast! I was pleased with how these turned out. My husband loves them, but, bread is his favorite food of all time. I made exactly as written and put the dough in muffin tins to rise. I ended up with 18 big rolls. I thought the coffee was detectable in this (I'm not a coffee drinker) but the unsweetened cocoa was not. Since my DH enjoyed them so much I'm sure I will be making these again. Thanks MAGGIE for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I don't think this tasted exactly like the steakhouse bread that I'm familiar with but it is close. I think the coffee taste was a bit strong and the bread wasn't sweet enough. DH loved it. I made 16 rolls instead of bread loaves. I probably will make this recipe again but tweak it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Yum! Made these into 30 dinner size rolls. I followed exactly and added 3 tbsp. vital wheat gluten. They were fluffy and delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My whole family loved it. Comment was that it tasted just like the bread at Outback. I didn't have any rye flour so I used whole wheat in its place. I formed dough into 8 small loaves; baked on (non-preheated) pizza stone for about 20 minutes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Really good as is, though I can really taste the coffee. I recommend not telling everyone what is in it- it is better if you can't recognize the coffee taste :) Very nice color, shape, and flavor- and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I loved this bread, but no one else in my family even liked it a little bit. I'm still giving it 5 stars, since I made it and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
What a beautiful bread this produces.Dense and flavorful, excellent with chowders. Really complimented our Fillet Mignon. Smeared with honey butter it was great on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States