Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
YUMMY! Great taste. Great texture. Amazingly professorial appearance with little extra effort. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I made mine into rolls that I subsequently used as hamburger buns. I actually forgot to add the cocoa powder and only realised it after the first rise... :( not sure what difference it would make, but I would definitely make it again WITH the cocoa powder next time. Also, I don't have a bread machine, so, I proofed the yeast in the warm coffee with the brown sugar and added the rest of the ingredients in after that and mixed them all by hand. Love the flavour and soemthing I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum! We make the dough in our bread machine, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Hubs and I really enjoyed this. Handling this dough was no challenge for us: I did put in a tad extra flour, but probably only by a tablespoon. Then I simply used oil when handling the dough, and that left it handling very quickly and easily. To make these more the size of the steakhouse loaves our family has been served in the past, we'll form this into six small loaves next time. For a sandwich bread, larger loaves could be fine. /// We used instant coffee, but put in a tad extra coffee granules to make it 'strong' as per the recipe - HOWEVER, I would not recommend doing so again. Also, I personally value the recommendation by another reviewer to add a bit extra sugar to round out the flavors. We did not do that last time, and perhaps by cutting back that tiny bit on the coffee it would be fine without more sugar, but we'll add a bit extra sugar next time - but that can be a matter of preference. --- Lovely loaf, though. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Awesome bread! I didn't use whole wheat flour and it was still amazing! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe except added 5 tablespoons of brown sugar and honey instead of molasses (didn't have any). This bread is wonderful. Four stars because it took awhile for the loaf to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yummy! I actually let it cook in the bread machine and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great bread. I increase the brown sugar to suit our taste, and I'm careful not to brew the coffee too strong (it has the potential of overwhelming the overall flavor). I almost always bake the entire loaf in my breadmaker with wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I'm VERY new at attempting to make bread/rolls, etc. Basically anything with yeast! I was pleased with how these turned out. My husband loves them, but, bread is his favorite food of all time. I made exactly as written and put the dough in muffin tins to rise. I ended up with 18 big rolls. I thought the coffee was detectable in this (I'm not a coffee drinker) but the unsweetened cocoa was not. Since my DH enjoyed them so much I'm sure I will be making these again. Thanks MAGGIE for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I don't think this tasted exactly like the steakhouse bread that I'm familiar with but it is close. I think the coffee taste was a bit strong and the bread wasn't sweet enough. DH loved it. I made 16 rolls instead of bread loaves. I probably will make this recipe again but tweak it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States