Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I cut the recipe in half for 5 individual loaves. I didn't have rye so I used 2 c all purpose flour. I don't have a bread machine so I kneaded and let rise like any other wheat flour loaf The bread is an excellent brown sandwich loaf that cuts clean with few crumbs. I added a dash of caraway seed and cardamom to individual loaves but I would skip the spices for sandwich loaves. I am going to use the full recipe and bake in a pan as an alternate for the daily and weekly sandwich loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I like the bread, but will delete the coffee (replace with water) and add more molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Wonderful bread! Didn't change a thing. Cooks up beautifully in my low-end bread machine. Makes a great complement to any great soup. When I was out of molasses I used pancake syrup, and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter. While I wouldn't say it tastes exactly like the Steakhouse bread, it is dense and has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Terrible definitely not steak and ale recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Used 1/2 wheat and 1/2 bread flour. Added VWG and baked in the bread machine on basic light crust. Held together great, tasted okay. Without the rye flour I'll stick with the Steakhouse Wheat Bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I LOVE THIS BREAD....I did make some changes though. I used DARK rye bread flour, very dark honey (instead of the molasses) and boosted the brown sugar to 4 Tablespoons (instead of 2 Tablespoons). I also used 1/2 butter, 1/2 oil to make up the 1/4 cup. I used a chocolate coffee that I brewed, which does not overwhelm by any means. I made one large loaf by using a springform pan which another reviewer had suggested. This does make a gorgeous looking loaf that way. I put the springform pan on a cookie sheet, so as not to burn the bottom of the loaf. I sprayed the loaf with water and sprinkled the oats on top just before putting in oven to bake. I did let it rise for at least an hour before baking it too. It baked up perfect in the 35 minutes at 375 degrees. P.S. Now I'm having a hard time keeping my husband away from it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Followed recipe as written ingredient wise. I made a small loaf and 7 nice size buns, it let it rise until doubled. Needed more time than the oven took. Didn't find the taste strong nor the bread too dense. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Will make again but not with coffee, which gives too much bitterness. Will replace with warm milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I just made these tonight, and was fairly pleased with the result. I wasn't prepared for how dry and stiff the dough was going to be (my bread machine creaked and groaned kneading this stuff) but once baked, the rolls were dense, soft, and very tasty. Had them with a mushroom and barley stew---very good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States