Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This bread is absolutely AMAZING! Didn't change a thing with the recipe. I did divide into just 4 small loaves, and baked for 25 minutes. They were absolutely fabulous! Tasted very similar to "Black Angus" restaurant bread. It was very moist,great flavor, fresh and SO GOOD! A keeper for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
cooked the whole time in my breadmaker and since I am new to bread making I had to guess on the settings. so I thought I would share what worked for me in case others have questions. I set it on rye bread, light loaf, large size. came out tasty. light fluffy in side and slight crunch on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The texture was wonderful. Taste not so much! It was too bitter. With butter and honey it tasted better. I'm thinking more sugar next time and perhaps less coffee? I used instant coffee because that's all I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This has become a go to recipe for black bread and bread bowls. I use 1 1/2 T Cocoa powder and regular strength coffee. One batch make 4 small bread bowls which are great for chowders. These are also good for hot dips. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This bread was very good. I didn't use a bread machine, just my KA. I made it yesterday afternoon for supper, but it took longer to rise than I expected, so we had a sample after dinner. I thought that the coffee flavor was a bit too pronounced. I made strong coffee (6T for 4 cups) just for this recipe, but perhaps if I had used my regular strength (1T per cup) it would have been better. I just toasted a piece for breakfast and put a little butter on it and it was delish! I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
While the bread tasted great, the recipe didn't say anything about greasing the pan and I forgot! It kinda fell apart when I tried to get it out of the pan. Lesson learned and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
In order to bake this bread in my Zo, I reduced the water to 1 cup. It was still a bit wet. Although it did not taste like the bread I get at our local Outback Steakhouse, the result was wonderful for the first day, chewy crust, soft crumb. However, it dried out very quickly. If I make this again, I would either make rolls to serve immediately or bake in the oven as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I didn't think the bread was too bad, my son kind of liked it, but my husband took two bites,left the rest and said it was terrible. Since he's always the final judge, I gave it 3 stars. The texture of the bread was great I thought. I did double the recipe for a bigger loaf in my bread maker without a problem (no overflowing). I guess it just had an off taste. I ALWAYS reduce the sugar in all my recipes, but in this recipe I actually think I would increase the sugar. The coffee & chocolate actually left a slightly bitter taste and adding a slight bit more sugar may have helped balance the flavors. If my husband didn't dislike it so much I would probably give it another try with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. I did make my coffee too strong, so the rolls were a little bitter, but the texture wasn't that great. The rolls were pretty hard and dry. I had pretty high hopes for this recipe, and was disappointed that they didn't turn out. Sorry, I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States