Steak Tips with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I haven't used this recipe in a long time and it was as good as I remembered. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I used sirloin steaks, not tips for this recipe, and put them in the broiler (it was too cold outside to ue the grill). Fantastic with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was an easy recipe. The only thing I would suggest is to use a semi-to dry red wine. I bought one to sweet, as I don't care for red wine, and I think the flavor would have been better had it been dryer. I will also use this on Deer steaks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was easy, fairly quick, and lovely! Rather than grill the steak, I cut it into bite-size pieces and browned it before cooking the mushrooms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I've made this twice now. The first time I found the sauce gummy and thought adding the flour ruined a beautiful sauce. So the second time I dropped the second can of broth and flour and instead whisked in 2 tablespoons of cold unsalted butter to thicken the sauce. The butter adds richness, intensfies the flavors and gives the sauce a lovely sheen. Because beef broth can be very weak tasting, I added 2 tablespoons of beef demi-glace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I thought this was very good...hubby liked as well. I followed the recipe exactly. The only change I will make in the future is to cut down on the wine and to add garlic to the dish. Overall the taste was very flavorful (but I think the wine was a little dominant). Will definately make again, thanks for thepost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
The flavors never melded. The sirloin was tough and never retained the seasoning of the spices and wine. I added the thyme and garlic when I sauteed the shallot. The sauce, once thickened, was delicious over egg noodles, but never blended with the meat, so it was kinda blah. Perhaps cook the beef tips in the sauce next time? I tried this with leftover sirloin from some kabobs that I had grilled, so perhaps that made a difference. I'd almost be tempted to triple the mushrooms and skip the beef entirely, thicken with flour or cornstarch, and serve over noodles. I added more garlic and thyme towards the end, as well, to punch up the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Pretty good. I didn't have any wine so I didn't use any which probably made a difference! I would HIGHLY recommend low sodium beef broth. I did not and the salt overpowered the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I messed up on this one but it still came out great! I used one can of beef broth. I'm glad I did cause this made a lot of sause and I was only feeding for two. My boyfriend really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I really used less red wine and it came out very very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States