Steak Tips with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
So good. I browned the meat in a little olive oil then put it in the oven on warm, reserving the juice. Sauteed a 1/2 a yellow onion and a ton of garlic in olive oil in the same pan with fresh rosemary and added the mushrooms when then onion was translucent. Pulled that out and deglazed with a cup of red wine and a cup of homemade chicken stock with a beef boullion cube crushed in it. Let it cook down for a while and then added the reserved beef juice, a small pat of butter, the flour and the veggies, let it cook for a bit longer. Finished it off by adding in the meat and that juice and letting it cook for just a few more minutes. The flavor was amazing. Served over quinoa with twice baked potatoes on the side. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe, I mixed the flour in water before adding it to keep it from getting lumpy. I used a medium onion because I wanted more of an onion flavor. I will use 1/2 the Thyme but other than that it turned out really good. Thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This sauce is fantastic! We used it tonight with some plain-ol' grilled sirloins. I really was apprehensive about using so much wine but the reduction with beef broth was not what I expected--very tasty, indeed. I cut the recipe to 2 servings which was a bad idea since I was really wanting more to use on my baked potato and veggies. My picky-eater wife loved it, she said that it reminded her of the sauce at a local steak restaurant...makes me look good and scores points for future cooking endeavors. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Hold the phone! My husband actually said "this is good" (i only know if he likes it by how many refills he gets) and my son, who doesn't like anything I make unless its pancakes or tacos, agreed with him and said "yeah, it is pretty good mom" HOLY COW. I made as is except I halved the recipe and threw it in a crock pot. Well, I used the same ingrediants that is. I sauteed the mushrooms & onion w/garlic in some butter, tossed the steak in flour before sauting in olive oil, than I threw everything in the crockpot, low, about 7 hours, and voila...the boys actually speak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Very easy and the taste was outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricky Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was wonderful! I followed it pretty much exactly as far as ingrediants,except pinot noir for the wine and beef consomme for the broth and no salt. And since it's not grilling weather here I used pressure cooker. On top of red skinned garlic mash and broccoli wow! Would make a great Valentines dinner! mmmmm......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I grilled a rib eye to rare and then cut it in to bitesize pieces and just warmed it in the finished sauce. I used 1.5 cups of chianti and a can and a half of beef stock. I also replaced the portabellos with presliced crimini mushrooms and served it all over egg noodles. I also added three cloves of garlic. I thought it was so yummy and easy. It is a little salty but I like that so if you are sensitive to salt, I'd do the low sodium beef broth. I also reserved a little stock to whisk the flour in before adding it to the reduction to avoid lumps. Worked great! I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marni Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Tried this using 2 pounds of tri-tip steak I had in the freezer and cooked it all day in the crock pot with salt and pepper. Then used the juices as part of the broth and mixed the flour in a little water before adding it at the end. It was wonderful with buttered noodles and the roasted steak was falling-apart tender. Bonus: the house smelled wonderful all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This recipe is the bomb. I pan fried Sirloin steaks and used the same pan w/sucs to make the sauce while the meat was resting, Added the resting meat juices to the sauce. Shake your flour w/h20 in a jar b4 adding to sauce to prevent lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was a big hit. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and I used a $12 bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. The sauce is amazing!! Don't rush the thickening of the sauce and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States