Steak Subs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is a cheese steak....that's exactly how they do it in Philly...slices top round thin (except for the marinade)...where the sub part?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
These were very good. I marinated them overnight and the meat was so tender. Might try with green peppers with the onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I made these the other day, they were fantastic! the meat was sooo tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Just Great! A quick and great tasting sandwich. One problem.... not enough.. next time will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Yummy stuff. Have been craving a good steak sub for a while now and have just found the recipe for that craving. Definate keeper. Followed the recipe exactly (except used white american cheese). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
YUM!!! This is great, but I recomend a few tweaks. I added some garlic salt to the marinade. I also added 1 medium sliced green pepper and cooked with the onion. Finally I buttered and put garlic salt on the buns and broiled that for a bit to melt the butter before adding the meat, cheese, onions and pepper. VERY GOOD!!!! This will definatly be one of our regular meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
these were great...I sliced my meat paper thin and then chopped into small pieces (diced it) to make it easier to eat...topped it with provelone cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
So far I've made this twice & I added some sesame oil to the marinade each time; I like the sesame undertones & it goes well with a sesame seed bun. I also rubbed some garlic on the buns & toasted them in the oven first. I've used the mozzarella slices as called for and I've also used pepper jack cheese and both were good. We'll probably continue with the hotter cheese just because it gives it a nice kick. Anyway, these are really good and I'll keep making them, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These were good. The soy sauce and cornstarch combo gave the steak a soy sauce taste. I think next time i will use a little less but other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelbrandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I prepared my meat the night before and marinaded overnight. I also followed the suggestions of some other reviews, by adding bell pepper along with the onion and dashing with garlic salt. I buttered my sub buns and sprinkled them with garlic salt, melting the butter in the oven before adding the meat and cheese. These were delicious!! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States