Steak Subs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Yummy stuff. Have been craving a good steak sub for a while now and have just found the recipe for that craving. Definate keeper. Followed the recipe exactly (except used white american cheese). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
So far I've made this twice & I added some sesame oil to the marinade each time; I like the sesame undertones & it goes well with a sesame seed bun. I also rubbed some garlic on the buns & toasted them in the oven first. I've used the mozzarella slices as called for and I've also used pepper jack cheese and both were good. We'll probably continue with the hotter cheese just because it gives it a nice kick. Anyway, these are really good and I'll keep making them, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
these were great...I sliced my meat paper thin and then chopped into small pieces (diced it) to make it easier to eat...topped it with provelone cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I made these the other day, they were fantastic! the meat was sooo tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Just Great! A quick and great tasting sandwich. One problem.... not enough.. next time will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
YUM!!! This is great, but I recomend a few tweaks. I added some garlic salt to the marinade. I also added 1 medium sliced green pepper and cooked with the onion. Finally I buttered and put garlic salt on the buns and broiled that for a bit to melt the butter before adding the meat, cheese, onions and pepper. VERY GOOD!!!! This will definatly be one of our regular meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I prepared my meat the night before and marinaded overnight. I also followed the suggestions of some other reviews, by adding bell pepper along with the onion and dashing with garlic salt. I buttered my sub buns and sprinkled them with garlic salt, melting the butter in the oven before adding the meat and cheese. These were delicious!! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made these subs for dinner tonight. I used deer tenderloin instead of the steak. I sliced it very thin and let it marinate for 3 hours. I cooked onion, mushrooms and a clove of garlic in the skillet. I added the meat to the skillet and cooked about 8 to 10 minutes. I put this mixture on the buns, covered with provolone cheese and put under the broiler for a few minutes until cheese was melted and top of bun toasted. Added chopped tomato and mayo. Yummy! My husband gave it 5 stars and said lets make it again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
added sauteed garlic, multi-colored peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
"Wonderful!" was the answer I received when I asked my family how the subs taste. Only changes were to use butter/garlic on the bun and I used green, yellow and red pepper blend with onions, and doubled the marinade and let it set over night They said there was no need to add condiments to it, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States