Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very tasty sauce! Now, I have to admit, I think "steak sauce" is an insult to a good steak, but what I was having tonight wasn't good steaks, it was some super thin cuts of round that I would be frying and with that, I like steak sauce. I'm out of both steak sauce and money to buy steak sauce so I found this recipe and had all the ingredients so I whipped it up. I'm eating it now and loving it! My only change was to use spicy brown mustard because I'm out of plain yellow. Thanks for cracking the steak sauce code! (And fyi for some reviewers: It doesn't taste just like A-1, or 57, because it's NOT either one of those things, but it IS very tasty.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
this right here is the best steak sauce recipe i have had in a long time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
My husband really loved this sauce and it was so easy to make! It's also so simple to adjust the quantities, and make it more spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
4 stars because my kids turned up their noses & demanded A1. This was very simple to make. The only changes that I made was to add an extra tbsp of Worsterchire and I also added about 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke. This a good steak sauce & I plan on keeping it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
A quick and easy last minute sauce. Tastes great, and with simple ingredients you're likely to have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
A real emergency in the house tonight - for Hubs, not for me. For him eating a steak without A-1 is like, hmmmm, for me eating a cheeseburger without pickles and sauteed onions. The Worcestershire gave it the A-1 flavor and the vinegar the appropriate tang. And, as always, in consideration of his sensitive innards, I left out the hot sauce. It won't make him a convert from his A-1 (his fault, by the way, for not writing it on the grocery list as it ran low!), but it sure was a lifesaver for his steak in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very good! Easy to make, had all the ingredients on hand. I'm not a big fan of hot sauce though so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Pretty good but I wont stop buying A1 - still looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
My husband liked this a lot. Made a great dipping sauce for his tator tots. We spread them on hamburgers; it had a nice tangy taste to it. I added some Splenda since it wasn't quite sweet enough (we used Heinz ketchup!) Different than the regular steak sauce I've used but I really liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I recently made this sauce when I realized I was out of steak sauce. We loved it. After making it I went shopping & had steak sauce on my list but after seeing it was over $4 for a bottle I will be making this many times. I made it as written the first time but it is such a recipe that you can make it to your liking. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States