Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Use this sauce in meatloaf, it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dot's Calm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am going 4 stars because it was a great launching off point for me. I will start by saying that I am not a big ketchup person. This was way too much ketchup flavor for me. To get away from that I added ground mustard, liquid smoke, i used spicy brown mustard, a lot more worcestershire and soy sauce. I did not have apple cider vinegar (which I suspect makes a big difference) but the pomegranate balsamic I had on hand worked out nicely. Almost as good as the real thing. Good luck and enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
i'm not much of a steak sauce person but my son and husband enjoy it. made steak tonight but didn't have any A1 (their preffered brand) so i searched the internet for a recipe that had a similar taste and that i had the ingredients for. i chose this one but added a few more things. onion powder, garlic powder, soy sauce and a tiny bit of orange extract. and i used brown dijon instead of yellow mustard since that is what i had in my fridge. i'm not the best with measuring so if/when i make this again i'll be sure to measure out my additions. my son approved the end result and even may 6 yr old daughter likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great in a pinch! I used white vinegar because it's what I had and it still tasted great! My very picky fiancee even approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I think this sauce is outstanding. It tastes like Heinz 57 but better, fresher. We use it on everything, and it is so much cheaper than buying the bottled one. Sorry Heinz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent! I usually prefer a good marinade to a steak sauce, but didn't have time tonight, so I looked this up instead. My husband doesn't use steak sauce, ever, but my son and I loved it. I omitted the salt (Worcestershire adds a lot of salt anyway), and it was plenty tasty enough. I'll be using this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Just ketchup with a little additives. Husband did not like it. Said it was too much ketchup and too much salt. If you don't like ketchup, you won't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This steak sauce was phenomenal! Perfect amount of heat and vinegar! We loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Like everyone here came to this because I was out of A-1. It was pretty good. I did check the ingredients on A-1 and found it included raisin puree and orange puree so I added some prune puree (1-2 tbs) and a bit of orange zest and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
A real emergency in the house tonight - for Hubs, not for me. For him eating a steak without A-1 is like, hmmmm, for me eating a cheeseburger without pickles and sauteed onions. The Worcestershire gave it the A-1 flavor and the vinegar the appropriate tang. And, as always, in consideration of his sensitive innards, I left out the hot sauce. It won't make him a convert from his A-1 (his fault, by the way, for not writing it on the grocery list as it ran low!), but it sure was a lifesaver for his steak in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States