Steak Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
I actually crave this dressing! I did add one major thing to the recipe. I made a second batch of the dressing (minus the blue cheese) and used it as a marinade for the meat. I marinated the steak for a couple hours and it really gave it some extra kick. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BINDERSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Hubby out of town tonite--what to do for dinner? Using the ingredient search, I typed in what I had on hand to work with quickly--leftover grilled steak, lettuce, blue cheese,green pepper and tomatoes. This came up and it was perfect--and didn't break the calorie bank! I made a few minor changes, just to suit my own taste preferences, including adding some crumbled bacon and excluding the green olives, not that they wouldn't have been good. I also had some homemade Italian vinaigrette on hand, so didn't need to bother with this dressing, which was probably just as well since the Worcestershire in it didn't really appeal to me. All and all, no matter what little individual spins you put on this, a great idea, and just a delicious simple dinner, made perfect with the glass of red wine I had to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This a great recipe for those nights when you feel like a salad, but don't want to feel hungry minutes after you are done. I made this using my leftover steak from the night before and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Fabulous salad - plus it's a great way to use up leftover grilled steak! And while the vinaigrette was nice and light, I opted to leave out the Worcestershire sauce and instead added just a bit of dijon mustard. I dressed up the greens with a bit of crumbled bacon and subbed some roasted red pepper for the green pepper. I love the addition of the olives which gave it that nice little salty surprise. Very easy to put together and great with a side of garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This salad is fantastic! It is my husband's favorite meal. I am not a huge blue cheese fan, but it works for me in this salad. I would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This is a great salad that is great as a main dish! We don't like bell peppers or olives, so I left them out and added 1 lb. of blanched asparagus. I also used a ribeye steak. I will make this often!! The dressing is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I have to agree with other reviewers...the dressing for this steak salad is incredible! I will be whipping up extra and keeping it on hand for salad, chicken or pork marinade, veggies, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This made a fantastic luncheon entree for my ladies group. In fact, its very similar to a steak salad that we get at our favorite restaurant....only we don't have to drive 30 miles to get one now! To make it taste more like the version used by our fav restaurant, I made the viniagrette with garlic flavored olive oil and added a splash of white balsamic vinegar.Thanks so much for posting this wonderful salad, Linda. We always wondered what was in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
TASTY! I was in a time-crunch to get dinner on after work, so I got 1# sliced brisket take-out and used this in place of the steak. I also substituted garlic-herb Feta cheese for the blue cheese because it's what I had on hand. Other than those 2 things, I made exactly as stated. We were skeptical of all the ingredients, but they were GREAT together! Wouldn't change a thing ... except my husband prefers black olives! We might change that next time, or use both! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I used grilled chicken breast strips instead of steak. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States