Steak Salad (Ranen Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
WOW, Rebecca! Great salad for a hot summer night, or any other night for that matter. My family loved this! I grilled the steak and cut into 1/2"X1" strips. This made for a pretty presentation. I used approx 1 cup of red leaf lettuce for more color, and toasted the walnuts for a more flavor. The dressing was amazing and added extra culinary excitement with the smokey, piquant flavor.I served homemade guacamole on the side, which my family said really enhanced the great flavors of this salad.Thanks for sharing.This is our new favorite summertime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
My husband and I liked this. I will make it for our big Easter gathering. I did not use the liquid smoke or tomatoes. This salad is nice for diabetics and low-carb dieters as there is no sugar in the dressing and no dried fruit in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
It's a hit! Excellent dressing and a perfect summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
It was wonderful. If you like steak and blue cheese you will love this recipe. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Fabulous salad, it was a delicious and filling main course meal! I added some chopped purple onion to the salad, and I substituted extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This salad is excellent. I added guacamole on top and increased the broil time a little for the steak, but besides that didn't change a thing. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
My husband loved this salad, he said it was worthy of a 5-star restaurant, and believe me that's no small feat: my husband is notoriously picky! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
So yummy, easy, and filling! I used a leftover NY strip from the night before. I didn't measure anything, just sprinkled it on to my liking. I made the dressing in a bottle and plan to use more of it tonight on a salad with chicken. I really liked the dressing, just don't douse it on. I love the way this recipe looks and if you have leftover steak, it can be made in less than five minutes. I will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I thought this was great. We have been eating steak salads for a long time and the dressing is the only thing so far that actually tastes good with all the other flavors. I did make some changes to it though. First I omitted the walnuts and mushrooms, my wife will not eat them, I also added onion, we love onion, and then to the dressing I added, 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley, 2 large cloves of garlic and best of all about a half teaspoon of crushed red pepper, it made the dressing like a light chimchurri it was delicious. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I loved this! It was simple and delicious. I served mine in warm pita bread. The blue cheese and walnut combine with the beef to give this an incredibly decadent flavor. I've made this also with grilled shrimp and it was divine!Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States