Steak Salad (Ranen Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
WOW, Rebecca! Great salad for a hot summer night, or any other night for that matter. My family loved this! I grilled the steak and cut into 1/2"X1" strips. This made for a pretty presentation. I used approx 1 cup of red leaf lettuce for more color, and toasted the walnuts for a more flavor. The dressing was amazing and added extra culinary excitement with the smokey, piquant flavor.I served homemade guacamole on the side, which my family said really enhanced the great flavors of this salad.Thanks for sharing.This is our new favorite summertime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Nice quick meal. My husband & I both thought the dressing had to much of a vinegar taste, so will cut back on the red wine vinegar a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
My husband and I liked this. I will make it for our big Easter gathering. I did not use the liquid smoke or tomatoes. This salad is nice for diabetics and low-carb dieters as there is no sugar in the dressing and no dried fruit in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
It's a hit! Excellent dressing and a perfect summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
It was wonderful. If you like steak and blue cheese you will love this recipe. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Fabulous salad, it was a delicious and filling main course meal! I added some chopped purple onion to the salad, and I substituted extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I guess I have different taste from most people. The salad ingredients are really great. I just recommend having a back-up bottle of dressing, just in case your family doesn't care for the one here. We really scrimped on a small bottle of blue cheese to make it go around. I like all of the ingredients in the dressing; it's just not something we could eat mixed together. Try dipping some lettuce in the mixture, first, before risking the whole salad. I'm sure I must have a little pickiness, though. It was something different to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This salad is excellent. I added guacamole on top and increased the broil time a little for the steak, but besides that didn't change a thing. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Used leftover grilled ribeye for the meat. Loved all the ingredients -- colors were pretty. Used regular bagged spring mix. I don't like liquid smoke so I didn't make the dressing -- topped with a champagne dressing. Tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
My husband loved this salad, he said it was worthy of a 5-star restaurant, and believe me that's no small feat: my husband is notoriously picky! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States