Steak Salad (Ranen Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I DID NOT make this with all of the ingredients because I never have them on hand - the walnuts mushrooms or crumbled blue cheese - so I left those out and added some diced green pepper and sliced green onion. I used blue cheese salad dressing to make up for no crumbled blue cheese. I made the dressing replacing some leftover steak sauce (from this site) in place of the liquid smoke. Great way to use up leftover steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Really good and really easy with ingredients we usually have on hand. We ate this at a friend's house and it was so good I looked up the recipe when I got home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINESAVILLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great summer salad...I didn't add the liquid smoke to the dressing but I did add 1 clove garlic minced and 1/4 tspn red pepper flakes as per others suggestions. I grilled the steak after marinating it in equal parts olive oil and balsamic vinegar, dried marjoram, oregano, slivered garlic and s/p. I added extra veggies I had to use up in addition to the ones listed. I will definately make again Rebecca. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Delicious, but leave out the Liquid Smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Not as good as I expected, needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Great and very filling, even for my husband. I did make a few changes. I added a can of mandarin oranges and then toasted the walnuts with a 1/2 package ramen noodles in butter for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Great dinner salad. I personally like it with a little goat cheese instead. Also, adding the crushed red pepper, garlic and parsley like the other reviewers suggest is a great idea. Great dressing for a quick and easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Tasty salad but I found I could only taste the vinegar in the dressing. And I *love* vinegar. I did leave the mixture overnight as dinner got pushed off that night, so I don't know if that allowed the vinegar to steal the show? The steak could have used some marinating as well as others here have done. My own mistakes included using dry feta in a bag--I hadn't tried it before and it does not have HALF the flavor of real wet feta in brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States