Steak Salad (Ranen Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This is delicious, easy and relatively quick. A wonderful main dish salad. We served it with warm steak which provided a wonderful mix of warm and cool. We also substituted garlic and herb feta cheese for the blue cheese since one of our daughters doesn't like blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
We enjoyed this salad and thought the dressing was fabulous! Vinaigrette with a smoky touch - perfect. My husband didn't like the steak "cold", but the rest of us thought it was very good. I used feta for those who don't appreciate blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
changed a the blue cheese option for other cheese, otherwise it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe to serve to guests on a nice summer night. I usually double the dressing to make sure we have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this salad on several occasions and it is divine. I followed the vinaigrette recipe to the letter but mixed the salad with whatever I had on hand for vegetables. I grilled the steak with La Grille Montreal steak spice from Club House, great combination. The liquid smoke makes this dish. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
We loved this recipe. I changed it by adding some yellow peppers and red onions. I also used a bagged spring mix for the greens. Super easy. I left out the smoke flavoring - I don't like it. The blue cheese and walnuts worked well wih the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We make this bi-weekly now. It's a great recipe, though we just use blue cheese for the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
EXCELLENT! Unfortunately Publix dissapointed me in there meat choice. tenderness of this meat is vital! Easy to make, slice meat thin. dont cut yourself short on flavor use exact tomatoes, lettuce, meat, cheese, etc.each one of these particular items, have a small minute unique flavor....worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was one of the best salads I've ever made and it was very simple. The one thing I did differently though was that I sauteed the mushrooms a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really like the consept of this salad, but I didn't care to much for the dresseing, After I made the dressing I ended up putting some Italian dressing to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States