Steak Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I grew up on Butt and Ben's pies and this really does come so close to it. Needs to be a little heavy on the pepper. I used canned mushroom gravy because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have cooked this recipe and my husband asks me to cook it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwalker78@me.com
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Great, Easy & Tasty Recipe! Definitely follow directions above to prevent dryness-I used cream of mushroom/chicken soup and broiled chicken in broth. Also, to keep the consistency of the bottom crust, I brush the bottom crust in an egg wash baked for 6 minutes THEN added filling and covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is absolutely wonderful! The entire family raved about it. Will absolutely make again. (Note to self: Check notes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Seriously people!! The dish was to try & copy one already being SOLD....Having bought many steak pies at the Pickering But n Ben, I know EXACTLY what the pie is like. There aren't veggies in it, just meat & lovely gravy...this is pretty darn close! Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Only 4 because I did dress it up a bit. Changes were I added fresh mushrooms, and spices, parsely, oregano, onion powder, and chopped garlic. I also used a jar of beef flavored gravy and 1 cup of beef broth, to give it a lot of flavor and gravy. I baked this in a pie shell with the potatoes covering the beef mixture till the potatoes started to brown. OH I pre-baked the pie shell. THis was great and the kids loved it. No leftovers, what a shame. Next time I will make two pies! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
really good. Like other reviewers, I added in some potatoes, carrots, mushrooms for a full meal (left out the celery and didn't miss it). I also simmered the mixture a good 45-50 minutes, rather than the stated 20. Did all of it in an oven safe pan so the flavors continued to meld. Was not wild about the puff pastry; would use a regular pie crust next time; just simply personal preference. Very hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My husband and I really liked this pie. I did add potatoes and broccli to the pie nad used ready made pie crust on top. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This pie tastes great and is easy to make. Two mintor quibbles: It's best eaten with a bowl and spoon as it does not contain enough solids to hold a pie shape. It's basically a pot pie. Also, the serving size is a bit small. All told, this pie only contains about 3 cups of food. My family of 4 found this to be a bit low to share comfortably. If we do the recipe again, we'll probably make 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
As a brit livinf in the states i would say this is a gret recipie added a few veggies tho thats the only thing missing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States