Steak Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bwalker78@me.com
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Great, Easy & Tasty Recipe! Definitely follow directions above to prevent dryness-I used cream of mushroom/chicken soup and broiled chicken in broth. Also, to keep the consistency of the bottom crust, I brush the bottom crust in an egg wash baked for 6 minutes THEN added filling and covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is absolutely wonderful! The entire family raved about it. Will absolutely make again. (Note to self: Check notes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Seriously people!! The dish was to try & copy one already being SOLD....Having bought many steak pies at the Pickering But n Ben, I know EXACTLY what the pie is like. There aren't veggies in it, just meat & lovely gravy...this is pretty darn close! Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Only 4 because I did dress it up a bit. Changes were I added fresh mushrooms, and spices, parsely, oregano, onion powder, and chopped garlic. I also used a jar of beef flavored gravy and 1 cup of beef broth, to give it a lot of flavor and gravy. I baked this in a pie shell with the potatoes covering the beef mixture till the potatoes started to brown. OH I pre-baked the pie shell. THis was great and the kids loved it. No leftovers, what a shame. Next time I will make two pies! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
really good. Like other reviewers, I added in some potatoes, carrots, mushrooms for a full meal (left out the celery and didn't miss it). I also simmered the mixture a good 45-50 minutes, rather than the stated 20. Did all of it in an oven safe pan so the flavors continued to meld. Was not wild about the puff pastry; would use a regular pie crust next time; just simply personal preference. Very hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My husband and I really liked this pie. I did add potatoes and broccli to the pie nad used ready made pie crust on top. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This pie tastes great and is easy to make. Two mintor quibbles: It's best eaten with a bowl and spoon as it does not contain enough solids to hold a pie shape. It's basically a pot pie. Also, the serving size is a bit small. All told, this pie only contains about 3 cups of food. My family of 4 found this to be a bit low to share comfortably. If we do the recipe again, we'll probably make 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
As a brit livinf in the states i would say this is a gret recipie added a few veggies tho thats the only thing missing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a really hearty meal, and could easily be adapted to a "pot pie" style meal by adding some cooked veggies suchas carrots and potatoes or peas. I came home from work planning to make beef stew, but due to traffic didn't want to wait 90 minutes for it to cook and tried this recipe. So glad I did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I took the suggestion to add some carrots & potatoes & let them simmer with the meat. Tastes great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States