Steak, Onion, and Pepper Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Had some leftover steak that we grilled the evening before so I chopped it up. I added what was called for in the marinade to sauté all of veggies & steak. Very nice flavor; simple & easy for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
we liked this a lot after i doctored it up with chili powder, more black pepper, and some tapatio sauce.. i cooked everything in my cast iron skillet.. i recuded the meat down to 1 lb but i was still left wanting more veggies in ratio to the meat.. i also reduced the liquid smoke to 2 tsp as others mentioned it was overpowering.. idk if that would have made a difference.. lastly, the amount of oil was way too much.. either way, ty for the start of what turned out to be a tasty dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Excellent! I did reduce the oil to barely cover the bottom of my cast iron skillet, and only used about half the liquid smoke. It was restaurant quality awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
If you are using a non-stick pan, you won't need any oil, in anything else, spray some olive oil or pam. I had to use chicken as that was what I had on hand....other than the over abundance of oil, the recipe is good. P.S. I would also recommend using some liquid smoke in the marinade, and cutting back on the saute part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Liked it. Did what others said and used less oil. Will definitely make again. Used red pepper - may add a little jalepanos for heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We often use this recipe to utilize leftovers as fajitas. We take whatever meat we grilled the night before and slice it thinly. Then, we use the tequila/lime juice/sauce/veggie portion of the recipe to make veggies. Once that's done we toss the meat in the tequila/lime juice/sauce/veggie and put it in a tortilla with rice, sour cream, salsa, and cheese. It's AMAZING!!! This spice combo is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Just made these tonight and wow, the marinade is the bomb! I squeezed fresh limes for the juice and it really made a difference. I bought round steak already thin sliced and did it in the cast iron skillet and did my vegetables in it after I removed the meat. I also cut down on the oil and liquid smoke, but other than that, followed it to a T. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was excellent! I used new york strips because that's what I had. I reduced the amount of liquid smoke to about 1/2 tsp. and that was plenty. Liquid smoke is very concentrated and can be very overwhelming. The sauce was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
The peppers and onions make this dish. I was a little leary of all that liquid smoke so I only added about 2 tsp. maybe a little more. As others did, I cut the oil way down. Didn't use the tequila b/c I didn't have any. Added fresh minced garlic to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made some changes just on my preference, but regardless, this was sooo good!! I did make changes as I didn't have lime juice, but I did have margarita mix, so I marinated the steak in patron tequila, (which I am sure made a difference, don't use tequila you don't like the taste of) and margarita mix and it was really good!! I also had a pack of fajita seasoning I threw in, and I had never used liquid smoke before but I didn't notice a really smokey or off taste at all from it. I also didn't add as much oil like others said, maybe 2 tbsp, just because I didn't want my vegies slimy, and I added just a little more worcestershire and liquid smoke just so it had enough liquid. I also added a tiny pinch of corn starch because it did seem really runny, like a water consistancy, may have just been from the veggies watering it down, I am not sure...I made some fresh tortillas, and topped with some sour cream!!! My husband and I really enjoyed this!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States