Steak, Onion, and Pepper Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I used the recipe primarily for the onions and peppers (for another beef recipe), and they were tasty. But, they were very oily. I doubled the peppers and onions, and there was still too much oil. They have a slightly sweet flavor with the addition of the liquid smoke, so if you like that sort of thing, this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Haig Cooreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was really good! I agree, less oil for the vegetables would be a good thing. I actually sopped up the excess with a paper towel. Also, I let the oil get too hot before I added the liquid smoke mixture. I tossed it in and it was really lucky I wasn't standing over it. It was like fireworks and was a big mess to clean up. Loved the flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Not what I was expecting, I will back off on the liquid smoke next time and not use so much. The meat was very tasty though!!! We also served in with guacamole and sour cream. My husband liked it alot. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made some changes just on my preference, but regardless, this was sooo good!! I did make changes as I didn't have lime juice, but I did have margarita mix, so I marinated the steak in patron tequila, (which I am sure made a difference, don't use tequila you don't like the taste of) and margarita mix and it was really good!! I also had a pack of fajita seasoning I threw in, and I had never used liquid smoke before but I didn't notice a really smokey or off taste at all from it. I also didn't add as much oil like others said, maybe 2 tbsp, just because I didn't want my vegies slimy, and I added just a little more worcestershire and liquid smoke just so it had enough liquid. I also added a tiny pinch of corn starch because it did seem really runny, like a water consistancy, may have just been from the veggies watering it down, I am not sure...I made some fresh tortillas, and topped with some sour cream!!! My husband and I really enjoyed this!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
The peppers and onions make this dish. I was a little leary of all that liquid smoke so I only added about 2 tsp. maybe a little more. As others did, I cut the oil way down. Didn't use the tequila b/c I didn't have any. Added fresh minced garlic to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was excellent! I used new york strips because that's what I had. I reduced the amount of liquid smoke to about 1/2 tsp. and that was plenty. Liquid smoke is very concentrated and can be very overwhelming. The sauce was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Just made these tonight and wow, the marinade is the bomb! I squeezed fresh limes for the juice and it really made a difference. I bought round steak already thin sliced and did it in the cast iron skillet and did my vegetables in it after I removed the meat. I also cut down on the oil and liquid smoke, but other than that, followed it to a T. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We often use this recipe to utilize leftovers as fajitas. We take whatever meat we grilled the night before and slice it thinly. Then, we use the tequila/lime juice/sauce/veggie portion of the recipe to make veggies. Once that's done we toss the meat in the tequila/lime juice/sauce/veggie and put it in a tortilla with rice, sour cream, salsa, and cheese. It's AMAZING!!! This spice combo is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Liked it. Did what others said and used less oil. Will definitely make again. Used red pepper - may add a little jalepanos for heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
If you are using a non-stick pan, you won't need any oil, in anything else, spray some olive oil or pam. I had to use chicken as that was what I had on hand....other than the over abundance of oil, the recipe is good. P.S. I would also recommend using some liquid smoke in the marinade, and cutting back on the saute part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States