Steak on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
LOVE!! My extended family ask me to make this all the time. What a great recipe. I use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This had a great flavor, but it was so salty we couldn't eat it. I will try again with reduced sodium soy sauce and maybe some water to cut down the saltiness. I did add honey and brown sugar for some sweetness as suggested in reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I think the key to this recipe is make absolutely certain you get that nice char on your meat. I made in broiler as directed, but for some reason (??) my meat wouldn't char. The taste was okay, but *just* okay. Husband heated up the cast iron pan smok'n hot and did a quick high sear - this COMPLETELY changed the taste and took it from a 3 to a 5*. Next time, will a) add about a T of brown sugar and b) definately grill. Oh - and if you're using flank steak (which we did), but sure to cut your slicees against the grain. Ours turned out fall apart tender, even after the hard sear...UPDATE: Just had to pop in and note this: we had original sticks last night with stirfry, rice & eggrolls - it was perfect. Had leftovers tonight (unexpectedly) as carne asada taco's - perfect! This maranade is to DIE for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I made this for my pool party. I followed the recipe exactly & it turned out GREAT! I wish I would have made more now because they were gone so fast!!! I think I could have tripled it! I will make this again without changing a single thing! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aeyla64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have served this twice now with rave reviews from everybody. Made it last night with "Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce" which made it more delicious if that's even possible. Too bad there's not more stars to give!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is really a fun recipe to serve to the family & friends. I have made it several times, turns out great. Make sure you soak those wooden skewers, my first time I had some burnt ones, but the meat was fabulous. I want to try chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
easy and good... really quick to do on BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was pretty good and well received by the family. We cooked ours on the grill and it came out pretty tender and flavorful. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Delicious marinade! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I added CHINESE FIVE SPICE instead of the ground ginger and a little brown suger to the sauce. ThenI marinated this for a little over 24 hours. It says prep time is 10 mins. But it does take a while to put all the meat on the sticks.Then I put them on the outside grill. I didn't mean to but I cooked almost half of the sticks a little to long. So don't put more on then you can watch or get to fast enough. They taste and smell WONDERFUL! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States