Steak on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have mustard powder so I used about 1 tsp of spicy mustard. Made this with Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans on this site and rice for a complete meal. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My kids love this!! Fun to eat, and fast to cook (this is my favorite part). If you can't get flank steak you can try cheap round steak and slice it the same - against the grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherriepierg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
A great marinade to dress up boring steak. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is excellent in soft tacos! I use flank steak and cut it into strips, then marinate it overnight. Then I cut it into chunks and cook/fry it in a heated grill pan to get a nice braise (is that the right word?) on the meat. I do have a problem with too much marinade going into the pan with the meat so I drain it as much as I can and then a couple times while it's cooking (it cooks really quick not counting the time needed to drain it a few times). Corn tortillas warmed in olive oil, cheese, lettuce, tomato, cilantro, salsa, YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
LOVE!! My extended family ask me to make this all the time. What a great recipe. I use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This had a great flavor, but it was so salty we couldn't eat it. I will try again with reduced sodium soy sauce and maybe some water to cut down the saltiness. I did add honey and brown sugar for some sweetness as suggested in reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I think the key to this recipe is make absolutely certain you get that nice char on your meat. I made in broiler as directed, but for some reason (??) my meat wouldn't char. The taste was okay, but *just* okay. Husband heated up the cast iron pan smok'n hot and did a quick high sear - this COMPLETELY changed the taste and took it from a 3 to a 5*. Next time, will a) add about a T of brown sugar and b) definately grill. Oh - and if you're using flank steak (which we did), but sure to cut your slicees against the grain. Ours turned out fall apart tender, even after the hard sear...UPDATE: Just had to pop in and note this: we had original sticks last night with stirfry, rice & eggrolls - it was perfect. Had leftovers tonight (unexpectedly) as carne asada taco's - perfect! This maranade is to DIE for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I made this for my pool party. I followed the recipe exactly & it turned out GREAT! I wish I would have made more now because they were gone so fast!!! I think I could have tripled it! I will make this again without changing a single thing! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aeyla64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have served this twice now with rave reviews from everybody. Made it last night with "Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce" which made it more delicious if that's even possible. Too bad there's not more stars to give!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is really a fun recipe to serve to the family & friends. I have made it several times, turns out great. Make sure you soak those wooden skewers, my first time I had some burnt ones, but the meat was fabulous. I want to try chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States