Steak on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Hey, it's Dominique! Glad everyone has liked the steaks!!! I should've noted that they can be a bit salty, so when I make them I usually get reduced-sodium soy sauce if I can. I also should've mentioned that the recipe works just as well with other cuts of beef and is even great for chicken and pork! My hubby and my 2-year-old son like it when I use this marinade to make pork chops in the slow-cooker! Anyway, makes me VERY happy to see everyone enjoying a family favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
DEEELICIOUS! I used sirloin and marinated it for 24 hours. Put them on some kabobs and grilled them up. The marinade went all thru out the steak and made them so flavorful and juicy! Next time Im going to add some crushed garlic and brown sugar to the marinade to sweeten it up. Like another reviewer said, this almost tastes like a menu item that a popular restaurant used to serve (fridays). I think if you add the brown sugar to make it sweet it will taste just like it! Great recipe, this is a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was a major hit tonight! I used London broil in place of flank steak. I cut it into strips and pounded them before marinating. I only marinated for 4 hours as I was short on time. I placed the skewers on the grill for a few minutes on each side. They were very tender and juicy, couldn't have tasted any better. This is a definite 5 star recipe that I would highly recommend. Thank you Dominique Lynne for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is close to being a teriyaki marinade. That it is too salty is not because the soya sauce is too salty, but rather because it is too dominant. add sherry or saki (at least 2 T, up to 1/4 C, experiment). As suggested, add brown sugar (1 or 2 T) but then cut out the molasses. You will achieve a fuller flavor if you press or finely chop real garlic and fresh ginger (ground/powder is a very poor substitute).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Love, love love this marinade! I've been looking so long for a good steak marinade. I use Top sirloin caps. I buy in bulk and then freeze them in the marinade. It is a mild flavor, not too much like soysauce, and with just a hint of sweetness. But, I do substitute 2-3 Tbsp. brown sugar for the molasses. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I make about 100 of these for a party and used venison. I was sure I would have a bunch left over. They were all gone in no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I use this on flank steak all the time. I don't cut it into strips, but just leave it whole. It is tender and juicy every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
We love this recipe!!! I let this marinate for 8 hours, next time I will marinate overnight as it was slightly mild but still yummy! I did sub honey for the molasses. Perfect! Terrific way to do London broil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is an awesome dish. My kids absolutely loved this. It has a good flavor-the longer you soak it the stronger the flavor. I also make skewers with different vegetables on it that I marinate in balsamic vinaigrette. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Fabulous recipe. I marinated it 24 hours, used flat iron steak, and grilled it outside. Perfect. Makes a nice presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States