Steak N Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Almost perfect but I swapped white wine for beef broth and I thought the flavor was exceptional! White wine seems to go best with venison despite the rules. Using beef broth with venison runs contrary to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I thought this recipe was great! Enjoyed it very much! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Very good and well received by my family, even the kids! I made mine with cube steaks (although I would be interested to try it with venison someday if the "boys" went out hunting, or I was feeling extravagant enough to buy some.) I was a little leary of using canned gravy, but didn't have the time to add the extra step of making my own. However, the richness of the onion and mushroom gave it a very authentic flavor, you could still taste the "canniness" but not very much. I also would recommend to anyone trying this with cube steaks, simmer it for more like 2 hours as mine was still pretty tough after 1 hour. I'm planning on trying it in my slow cooker the next time I make it, and using canned consumme to make the gravy. All in all, an excellent dinner, I wouldn't serve it to company because it's not the prettiest presentation in the world, but around the table over a pile of mashed potatoes it really satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was fantasic! I was not taught how to fry foods! By the time I was married and had children everything was baked so it would be "healthy" I feel like I have been "mentored" to learn the art of frying cube steak and gravy just like the "old days". Thank you for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I didn't use venison; I used beef round top instead. I must say that this was really good. I cut the recipe in half and made it for my boyfriend and I. He devoured it instantly. I like the consistency of the gravy too. I wouldn't cook it all the time due to the fat content, but definately will be a nice staple to have. Served with roasted red potatoes and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I used sirlion steaks instead of venison steaks and I didn't have any beef gravy, so I used white cooking wine. I also left out the milk. The recipe turned out great. I also cut the flour mixture in half and I still had a lot of mixture left over. Overall, my husband and I thought this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Very easy to make. Great flavor. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed this. I am not used to the texture of deer so with this recipe I was able to eat it and enjoy it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The only exception I had was no ground bay leaves on hand, so I used 1 Tbsp of Italian Seasonings and 1 Tbsp of Oregano. It was very tender and made a great gravy - just needed a sprinkling of salt. We will enjoy this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I'm not a huge venison fan, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States