Steak N Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was simply one of the best venison recipes I've ever tried! My husband is a hunter and we have struggled for years trying to find a venison recipe that I liked. An added plus was that the leftovers were wonderful as well! Definately a "must try" for the hesitant hunter's wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
It was good but the flavour wasn't exactly our favorite. I think the bay leaves were a little much. I didn't want to pound the meat as thin as stated because I knew the venison wasn't on the tough side. Made lots of gravy. I probably won't make this again. Michele, Cambridge Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I used Elk and canned mushrooms. The Elk was very tender and didn't taste gamey at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was excellent. We also eat venison a couple times a week so are always on the lookout for good recipes and this is a definate keeper. Didnt use ground bay leaves-really who has that. But it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is so wonderful!! I used two packs or dry gravy mix instead because that is what I use to make salisbury steak, and it came out great. I have already made this twice and I will make it many times more. It is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie4Christ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was terrific! I used a dry gravy mix instead of canned, swapped red wine for the milk, and used a whole package of fresh mushrooms. It was delicious with horseradish mashed potatoes and steamed green beans. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe was great. Instead of canned gravy, I made my own or used a dry mix. My family loves this and it has become a regular dish on our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Used beef stew meat minus the bay leaf. We enjoyed. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Was good and easy. Made the texture and taste of our old, frozen, elk tenderloin, not so bad. I cut the tenderloin up into thin slices and put them in 2 - 1 gallon plastic bags and pounded them with a hammer. I had to fry the steaks in batches since I had more pieces. (BTW...1 cup of flour was more than enough to coat all of the pieces and I ended up throwing a lot away). Didn't use ground bay leaves because we didn't have any and did not substitute it with anything else. Used canola oil instead of olive because I was out of olive oil. Used about 1 1/2 tbsp. of fresh, chopped garlic because we love it. Used 6 brown (also known as cremini or baby portabellas) mushrooms because we don't eat white domestic and I wish we had used more because personally I would have liked mushrooms in every bite. They tasted really good in this recipe. Thanks for the recipe. It's a nice change from the usual fried steak with cream gravy. I'll use it for beef and I'm sure it will taste even better! Also, the gravy was delicious with egg noodles instead of potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I'm not a huge venison fan, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States