Steak N Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The only exception I had was no ground bay leaves on hand, so I used 1 Tbsp of Italian Seasonings and 1 Tbsp of Oregano. It was very tender and made a great gravy - just needed a sprinkling of salt. We will enjoy this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I'm not a huge venison fan, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was fantasic! I was not taught how to fry foods! By the time I was married and had children everything was baked so it would be "healthy" I feel like I have been "mentored" to learn the art of frying cube steak and gravy just like the "old days". Thank you for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Was good and easy. Made the texture and taste of our old, frozen, elk tenderloin, not so bad. I cut the tenderloin up into thin slices and put them in 2 - 1 gallon plastic bags and pounded them with a hammer. I had to fry the steaks in batches since I had more pieces. (BTW...1 cup of flour was more than enough to coat all of the pieces and I ended up throwing a lot away). Didn't use ground bay leaves because we didn't have any and did not substitute it with anything else. Used canola oil instead of olive because I was out of olive oil. Used about 1 1/2 tbsp. of fresh, chopped garlic because we love it. Used 6 brown (also known as cremini or baby portabellas) mushrooms because we don't eat white domestic and I wish we had used more because personally I would have liked mushrooms in every bite. They tasted really good in this recipe. Thanks for the recipe. It's a nice change from the usual fried steak with cream gravy. I'll use it for beef and I'm sure it will taste even better! Also, the gravy was delicious with egg noodles instead of potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Used beef stew meat minus the bay leaf. We enjoyed. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe was great. Instead of canned gravy, I made my own or used a dry mix. My family loves this and it has become a regular dish on our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was terrific! I used a dry gravy mix instead of canned, swapped red wine for the milk, and used a whole package of fresh mushrooms. It was delicious with horseradish mashed potatoes and steamed green beans. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is so wonderful!! I used two packs or dry gravy mix instead because that is what I use to make salisbury steak, and it came out great. I have already made this twice and I will make it many times more. It is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie4Christ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was excellent. We also eat venison a couple times a week so are always on the lookout for good recipes and this is a definate keeper. Didnt use ground bay leaves-really who has that. But it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I used Elk and canned mushrooms. The Elk was very tender and didn't taste gamey at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States