Steak N Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Almost perfect but I swapped white wine for beef broth and I thought the flavor was exceptional! White wine seems to go best with venison despite the rules. Using beef broth with venison runs contrary to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I thought this recipe was great! Enjoyed it very much! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Very good and well received by my family, even the kids! I made mine with cube steaks (although I would be interested to try it with venison someday if the "boys" went out hunting, or I was feeling extravagant enough to buy some.) I was a little leary of using canned gravy, but didn't have the time to add the extra step of making my own. However, the richness of the onion and mushroom gave it a very authentic flavor, you could still taste the "canniness" but not very much. I also would recommend to anyone trying this with cube steaks, simmer it for more like 2 hours as mine was still pretty tough after 1 hour. I'm planning on trying it in my slow cooker the next time I make it, and using canned consumme to make the gravy. All in all, an excellent dinner, I wouldn't serve it to company because it's not the prettiest presentation in the world, but around the table over a pile of mashed potatoes it really satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was fantasic! I was not taught how to fry foods! By the time I was married and had children everything was baked so it would be "healthy" I feel like I have been "mentored" to learn the art of frying cube steak and gravy just like the "old days". Thank you for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I didn't use venison; I used beef round top instead. I must say that this was really good. I cut the recipe in half and made it for my boyfriend and I. He devoured it instantly. I like the consistency of the gravy too. I wouldn't cook it all the time due to the fat content, but definately will be a nice staple to have. Served with roasted red potatoes and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I used sirlion steaks instead of venison steaks and I didn't have any beef gravy, so I used white cooking wine. I also left out the milk. The recipe turned out great. I also cut the flour mixture in half and I still had a lot of mixture left over. Overall, my husband and I thought this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Very easy to make. Great flavor. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed this. I am not used to the texture of deer so with this recipe I was able to eat it and enjoy it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The only exception I had was no ground bay leaves on hand, so I used 1 Tbsp of Italian Seasonings and 1 Tbsp of Oregano. It was very tender and made a great gravy - just needed a sprinkling of salt. We will enjoy this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I'm not a huge venison fan, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States