Steak n Ale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This pie was very tasty. I love to cook so I had to change a few things since some prior reviewers found it bland. I spiced my beef with salt and pepper before browing it in the lard. Also I brown the veggies a little in the left over lard to give them more flavor. As a final addition I deglazed the pan I used to brown the beef and vegetables with the ale and water mixture and spiced it with a little montreal steak seasoning to give the sauce some extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I used Guiness Draft instead of the ale and I added 1 pkg dry mushroom gravy and 1 tsp worchestershire sauce. It had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I was very impressed with the results of this recipe! Absolutely delicious! Thanks Pie Man! I boiled the diced potatoes, turnips and carrots before I baked the pie to ensure that they would be soft. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
Mmmmm - never before have I tasted such a tasty pie. I sure was glad that Mary-Beth took the time to bake such a treat that all generations can enjoy. I now have another foodstuff to make me more obese, like all good American's, and the extra protein will help my mullet growth - thank you Kevin Miller, or should I say 'pie-man'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I usually chose my recipes and cook with my family in mind, but this time I made this recipe just for me (I had a craving for beef stew meat). I browned my meat in butter and olive oil rather than lard, parboiled the vegetables in beef stock before adding them to my "stew", and baked up a container of refrigerated sourdough biscuits. I add garlic to just about everything, and so I added some chopped garlic to this; I also added a couple of cilantro leaves and some dried thyme. I did not bake it as a pie, but rather served myself the prepared meat/vegetable mixture/gravy mixture with 2 of my biscuits (which I buttered) on the side. TOTALLY DELICIOUS. A phenominal COMFORT FOOD experience; an absolutely "guilty pleasure" that I will definitely make again (and keep to myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This pie was indeed VERY tasty. I made it for my boyfriend and i as he is always talking about steak and ale pie. i substituted the turnip with gently fried mushrooms and boiled all the fresh vegetables before baking so that they were as soft as possible. However, when i was making the ale/water for the juice, it just wouldnt thicken, i had to end up adding some gravy granules to thicken it. This was the only "problem" i came across and all in all this was probably the tastiest steak and ale pie ive ever had. Regards to the pie man =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My English husband loved this, we used puff pastry from the freezer, skipped the turnip and did sliced mushrooms. Also, used the worchestershire sauce and diced curly parsley with brown gravy baked for 1 hr. after having an egg comb over the puff pastry. Fantastic....thank you pie man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This pie as is is ok. I think if you used beef broth instead of water to give it more flavor it would be better. The gravy needs to be a bit thicker, too. I might also add a dash of garlic and spices to the broth before I make it into gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe was pretty good, although the "gravy" was more like broth. I couldn't get it to thicken no matter what I did. Came out more like stew. Might try it again though and see if it was just an isolated thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
Overall, this recipe sounds good in concept but the bitter ale did not give it enough flavor. In the future I'd say add some seasonings, especially salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States