Steak n Ale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
Mmmmm - never before have I tasted such a tasty pie. I sure was glad that Mary-Beth took the time to bake such a treat that all generations can enjoy. I now have another foodstuff to make me more obese, like all good American's, and the extra protein will help my mullet growth - thank you Kevin Miller, or should I say 'pie-man'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I was very impressed with the results of this recipe! Absolutely delicious! Thanks Pie Man! I boiled the diced potatoes, turnips and carrots before I baked the pie to ensure that they would be soft. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I had such high hopes for this recipe - but found the pie to be unimaginative and boring at best. Husband and kids ate it, but only because they were hungry, their only comment was "good try - better luck next time".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
Overall, this recipe sounds good in concept but the bitter ale did not give it enough flavor. In the future I'd say add some seasonings, especially salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This pie was very tasty. I love to cook so I had to change a few things since some prior reviewers found it bland. I spiced my beef with salt and pepper before browing it in the lard. Also I brown the veggies a little in the left over lard to give them more flavor. As a final addition I deglazed the pan I used to brown the beef and vegetables with the ale and water mixture and spiced it with a little montreal steak seasoning to give the sauce some extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Oh so bland! This recipe as written has very little flavour. I used Guinness instead of ale and have also tried cooking the meat and vegetables in beef stock first to try and improve the flavour. I love meat pies but this is just not a great pie recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This pie as is is ok. I think if you used beef broth instead of water to give it more flavor it would be better. The gravy needs to be a bit thicker, too. I might also add a dash of garlic and spices to the broth before I make it into gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I used Guiness Draft instead of the ale and I added 1 pkg dry mushroom gravy and 1 tsp worchestershire sauce. It had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Excellent and easy, better than the pub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullajabbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I made a number of changes to this recipe... The biggest being that I used tofu instead of steak and made my own crust. It turned out great though, I really like the addition off the ale for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States