Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was very tasty after marinating for just a couple of hours. I didn't have red wine vinegar salad dressing -- so substituted with a mix of red wine vinegar and canola oil. Great way to use things I already had on hand. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Excellent marinade! My husband loves A1 so I gave this a try. I used a combination of red wine vinegar and olive oil instead of salad dressing and dijon for the prepared mustard. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate overnight. It turned sirloin into a very tender and delicious cut of meat. I would definitely try this on chicken just to see what happens...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I miss read the recipe and put in red wine vinegar rather than red wine vinegar salad dressing. It still turned out okay. I have to say I think it would be better on chicken than steak though. The BBQ sauce taste was a little too over powering for me. I will probably try it on chicken though. I think that has real potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Hubby insists that this is out of this world and deserves a 5. This is a very good marinade, but only if you like barbecue sauce on your steaks. I agree with another reviewer that I think that this would be outta this world on chicken. This really was a nice change of pace. Be sure to barbecue the meat slowly, the sauce lends itself to flaring up and burning if you aren't careful. Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I recently tried this marinade because it was one of the top rated steak marinades on this site. What I was most worried about was that this marinade would have a heavy A-1 Sauce flavoring...and I was right. It's really not a sauce that I like at all. I can't describe what it is that I don't like, but I just think it's one of the worst flavorings for meat! I really don't get why it's so popular. So, while I liked this steak, I didn't love it. And it's probably not something I'll make again because there are so many other great flavors out there! But, if you're a fan of A-1 Sauce, you will probably like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I Marinated the steaks all day. I then washed off the marinade and sprayed olive oil on the steaks and used Montreal steak seasoning on each side as we grilled them.....Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Everyone who had steak with this marinade loved it!! could not stop talking about it the whole meal and I won't eat steak without it ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn.lohr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very tasty marinade! Good on chicken thighs and shrimp as well! Do NOT need to add salt. The soy sauce is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe! I forgot marinade at the store also and this worked out great. I used two tablespoons of canola oil and two tablespoons of redwine vineger instead of the redwine vineger salad dressing. I beat the steak before marinading it for two hours. The steak came out AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This recipe was ok. It tasted too much like BBQ even though I cut out about 1/4 cup. It would taste great on chicken. I don't think I will make this again for steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinade for Steak I

See how to make a sensational marinade for steak.

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States