Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe called for way too much garlic, it over powered the dish and it tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These were pretty good, my family gobbled them up. However, I think I might try increasing the cream sauce next some next time so they will be creamier. Maybe it's because my potatoes were bigger than the recipe, but it only stated 3 russets and not the size so I tried to stay in the medium to medium large size. They did take longer to bake and I cut mine in small cubes. I'm going to take the advice of another reviewer and try boiling them for about 10 minutes before baking to cut down on the time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is OK! It was creamy, and I took someone else's advise, and boiled my cubed potatoes for 10 minutes. The flavor is lacking, maybe instead of the 2% milk use chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
good but very strong garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I love this recipe, but it does take longer to bake then it says. I use sharp cheddar and mince some onion in with the garlic. Otherwise I follow the basic directions. I found this recipe a few months ago and have made it four times and already! I save it in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Recipe was good, but it didn't "wow!" me, so I was disappointed. The potatoes were definitely creamy. I think it needs something, I'm not sure what though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
These sounded amazing, so I tried them. They were very good. I did cube my potatoes and boiled for 10 min to lessen the bake time so they wouldn't dry out. I used half the garlic called for, and they were still very flavorful. I also used very sharp cheddar and also added some onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ramey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Loved the flavor. I didn't have heavy cream so tried to substitute with whole milk and butter but it came out kind of clumpy. Will try again with the cream and maybe add some Dijon mustard to kick it up a little. Did take a little longer to cook than listed. Overall I really liked it, but didn't love it. Close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy to prepare and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
OK. Love the ease of prep.Sliced the potatoes instead of cubing them. Will try a higher quality cheddar next time. Make sure you season to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States