Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I loved not having to cook the sauce on the stove!! The taste could use some work. I even added a lot of onion powder to them. Will definitely keep using the recipe, but will try to work on the flavor. Might try with chicken broth instead of the 1/2 cup milk or maybe more garlic. Thank you for an Au Gratin recipe that I didn't have to cook the sauce!! My mother-in-law doesn't make a sauce and she sprinkles her flour between layers of potatoes, then pours milk over it. You get hunks of flour in your potatoes (YUCK). Soooooo glad I found this recipe (without hunks of flour) and no cooking the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Didn't have any heavy cream, so I used all FF half-and-half which worked out fine. I put in a layer of sliced potatoes (used the food processor), then added some sliced onion (added good flavor), and layered the rest of the potatoes on top. Certainly was easy to make, timing was spot on, just not as creamy as I would have liked, but we still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
The potatoes cooked beautifully! However the sauce was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Excellent ! I added seasoned bread crumbs over the cheese the way Capital Grill does
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
So good...family loves them ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Great for company. Try adding some bacon bits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a good base recipe - now I just need to get the seasoning right. I used an 8 x 10 casserole dish and sliced four medium-large russet baking potatoes. I had three layers of potatoes with fresh broccoli florets in between. I ended up adding 1 1/2 cups half n half, 1/2 cup heavy cream, and four tablespoons flour, and the consistency of the sauce was perfect. I seasoned the potato layers as another suggested, but it was still a bit bland. Next time I will also add salt and pepper to the sauce mixture. I also added some onion powder and next time I think I will add a little heat, maybe some chipotle powder. I didn't want the cheese to stick to the foil, so once the potatoes were soft, I removed the foil, added the cheese, and baked until the cheese was bubbly. And of course we used sharp cheddar - I never buy anything less than sharp. I would love to try this with some other cheeses as well, maybe add some Manchego. This could easily be customized to pair with the seasonings in your main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I cubed potatoes really small, placed in a 9x13 pan, then microwaved on high for 8 min before doing the rest of the recipe. I mixed most of the cheddar in with the potatoes before microwaving. It was well received! I also used about 50% fat free half and half and 50% skim milk for the milk and cream mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
to dry, not creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I had to cook it longer than written, boil potatoes for 10 minutes and you wont have to cook longer. Great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States