Steak Deals Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Four stars for the actual recipe, five for the potential. Due to the comments of others I used garlic powder and a little celery salt for flavor, but I was concerned with it being too spicy, so I blended some wax peppers with my cream cheese before pouring it on the meat. Maybe using the peppers it calls for would have given it a stronger flavor, as it was still a tiny bit bland. With that being said, the flavor that was there was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I liked the idea more than the specific recipe... I used thin sandwich steaks followed a couple of others reviewers ideas. For one I creamed the cream cheese in a blender and two I sautéed some garlic and onion instead of the pepper. I laid a couple of spinach leaves down and putt a blob of the cream cheese onion garlic mixture on too then sprinkled with feta and added a couple of capers finally I rolled then wrapped with turkey bacon. After 20 min in the oven I turned on the broiler for the last 5 min to crisp the bacon. I then added olives to the cream cheese mixture (still in the blender) and blended again till just barely mixed and spooned over top for a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anyone-can-cooook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
These were the best things I have made from this website so far. I was able to make about 10-12 of these from the size roast I had and went away for the weekend hoping to get some when I got back they were gobbled up in ten minutes so I was told. Also I rubbed the roast with tenderizer, salt, pepper, fresh minced garlic and parsley and put in a bag over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I use deer steak with different variations (onions, bell pepper, mushrooms). I also prefer the meat marinated. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This only gets 3 stars from me. I substituted green pepper for the chili's, so maybe that was the problem, but other than that we found this recipe to be just - blah - Won't be making again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This was a nice change of pace for round steak. I used green, red and yellow pepper pieces in place of the jalapenos and it was excellent. Fortunately, we buy our beef from a local grower and my round steak is usually pretty tender to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Once I finally got these cooked properly, they were very good, although I can see why some people either cut the hot peppers in half or changed them for something else entirely. I used whole jalapenos, and they were extremely hot, although the cream cheese had the effect of cooling them down. Like everyone else, I had problems with the bacon being too uncooked. Next time will try using the broiler for this. I agree with some of the previous reviewers that these would also be great with regular peppers, tomatoes, onions, or some combination of those. Will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I have made these several times and my family loves them. I buy thin steaks, and for the filling, I cream the cream cheese with diced chili peppers, spread it over the entire steak and then roll them. I have also creamed the cream cheese with Jalapenos for a spicier meal. If I have cream cheese left over, I put it on top before I beak it, which makes a nice sauce to go with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Sortino Camden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I made this for my parents in law to be, with stuffed tomatoes for a starter, i substituted the chili peppers for red, green and yellow regular peppers as they are a bit sensitive on the spiciness of things, it turned out absolutely wonderful! I sevred with potato gratin with an onion sauce (which complimented the steak perfectly) and mushrooms boiled in garlic and white wine. deliciouso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This was very good! I had some trouble finding bottom round, but when I did I had it tenderized. I also used yellow banana peppers, and only 1/2 pepper (seeds removed) per rollup, which was plenty hot. I salted & peppered each slice of meat before rolling, but it still lacked a little flavor. Next time will add some garlic salt. I also wrapped each rollup with 2 slices of bacon and cooked in the oven. The bacon didn't get too crispy and no one wanted to eat it that uncooked, so I had to take everyones bacon and microwave it to get it crispy. Next time I will turn the broiler on for a few minutes or cook them on the grill over charcoal. Overall it was good, and didn't really take too long to fix. The next day we broiled the leftovers and the bacon got crispy! VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States