Steak Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was soooo good and easy the longer you let it sit the better. I used an already tenderized steak, That made it even better. I was getting a little sick of the sauce and gravy thing this was a great change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I thought this was wonderful. It came out juicy (despite the scoring) and tender. This was part of the same cut of meat I used for another recipe, and that one did not come out juicy and tender. I let it marinate for quite a few hours. From reading the other reviews... I'd have to say I understand why lots of people would find this salty but unfortunately I happen to be a salt addict. Plus I love the tanginess of soy sauce. So if you like tangy, this is great. If you don't, this is probably not your recipe. And probably your average person should cut down on the salt. Every once in a while I find it necessary to add certain comments: ZeroCreature (an apt name), not that you'll ever see this, but you are quite insulting and egotistical. Do people not have the right to just plain not like a recipe w/out your permission or insulting opinion about it? There are at least 2 expert cooks who gave this a 1 or 2, and I'm quite sure they know their behind from a hole in the ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Finding a marinade that will make steak tasty enough and tender enough for my father to eat it without complaint - in fact, with high praise! - is impossible. Or so I thought! I used this base with some modification - I used three cloves of garlic sent through a press (we like things smelly and delicious around here!), a cup of homemade tomato sauce, and Italian seasoning blend instead of just oregano. I also made it a wet marinade (with the full cup of sauce) instead of a wet rub and kept it in a Ziploc in the fridge for about four hours before broiling it. Dad compared it to the Outback... I'll take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe. I thought the round steak would be tough, but it was good. My kids even ate this. I have even left the tomato paste off when I didn't have it and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quakers Hill, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
It was really easy, tasted great and most importantly my whole family loved it! I left out the tomato paste when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
A great alternative for round steak. I was surprised how much my kids liked it, since it's a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was very, very good. Didn't really score the meat but did marinade for about 24hrs. After reading some of the reviews I didn't add all the salt only about a 1t. but I guess it all depends on how much meat you are using. Didn't come out saltly, just perfect. My whole family enjoyed it and like I've said before on other reviews, my 5yr old son is very picking and he asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Wow, this was good. We raise our own beef and after years of not liking the tougher round steak, I've found the recipe to make it into a favorite. It was very tender and favorful. Would possibly reduce salt and I did dab on some oil prior to grilling. This perhaps made the rub a little more saucy as well as keep it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States