Steak Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This chili was really good after some modifications... Instead of the chili pepper i used a jalepeno pepper, then i used two cans of kidney beans instead of one, and then one tbsp of chili powder instead of two. I didnt have ground cayenne pepper, so instead i substituted cayenne pepper sauce 1 tsp. Definately the best chili I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I prefer "Texas" chili to regular hamburger chili and this recipe was a good jump off point. I added a can of beer to the sauce which I find tenderizes the meat. I also added japolenos for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Pretty good chili- I really enjoyed the steak (I don't care much for ground meats). I used a sirloin steak- wasn't sure what cut to use, so I just got was on sale. I cut the recipe in half and put it in the crockpot all day. I was going to sear the meat first, but I didn't have time. Instead of a green chile, I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I added a small can of tomato sauce because it seemed too thick at first, but at the end it was almost too thin- I left the lid off the crockpot for a while so it would thicken up. I added 1/2 green bell pepper and used one can of pinto beans. Served with light sour cream, cheese, and Honey Corn Bread from this site. A hearty, very filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe. The change I made was instead of cooking it in a pot, I cooked it in a slow cooker for about 6 hours. The meat falls apart and all the flavors had married together very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
i made this exactly as is and i LOVE it! I like things spicy, and the heat and flavor level in this is fantastic. definitely a do again :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTheGreat1808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I changed this up a little. I omitted cumin,instead added appx. 2 tsp. paprika, about 1.5 Tbsp. HOT New Mexico chile powder, added 1 can dark red kidney beans, stewed tomatoes & 1 large can crushed tomatoes-everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I used two cans of beans but otherwise I followed the recipe. This recipe freezes GREAT! I froze half of it and the flavors really came out after I defrosed it. Excellent! Today I am going to double the recipe and am using dried beans which I soaked in salt water overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is great! I use serloin steak and sub the 2 cans of toms w/2 cans of fire roasted toms plus one small can of tom sauce. We love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Loved this! I omitted the beans, as I'm not a big fan of red kidney beans anyways..and pretty much made it an all meat chili. I used a jalapeno and about a half can of chipoltle peppers, VERY nice smokey flavour and a bit of spice but not too much. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newsox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great recipe that I will make again. I used leftover grilled steak that I cubed and backed off on the cayenne pepper. My family loved it. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbellingham
Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States