Steak and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great salad! It's also a great way to use up leftover grilled steak. I used a combination of spinach leaves and mixed greens. I toasted the walnuts and instead of tomato I added thin sliced red onion. I topped the whole thing off with crumbled feta cheese which goes great with the dried cranberries. I drizzled the whole salad with "Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing" by Jan W. from this site - a great combination of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This is a great salad...just missing the crumbled blue cheese on top, the red onion and "Ken's" raspberry vinagerette dressing! Try this and you've got yourself the best salad in the U.S.!! Beware though....it's addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Very good. I used it to serve 6 as an appetizer on New Year's Eve and it was very well received. I left out the tomatoes, though, as I didn't think they would go well with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This salad is great and very filling with hot parker house rolls on the side. I left out the tomato per the previous review and added thinly sliced red onion and dressed it with Paul Newman's Balsamic Vinagrette dressing. VERY tasty...thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This is VERY, VERY good. It is easy to make and I have made it many times for parties and holiday events. I season the steak with a seasoning salt as it cooks. I also add 1/2 cup Gorgonzola cheese and I use halved cherry tomatoes instead of sliced tomatoes. I use the following for the dressing (can be found on this site): "Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette". I highly recommend this salad to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Great salad, but next time I make it I will use a different cut of beef. Round steak is too tough for this. I even marinated mine first and it was still not quite tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is an outstanding summer dinner entree! I used leftover fillets from the grill, toasted walnuts, homemade black cherry viniagrette and tossed gorgonzola crumbles on it. DELICIOUS. Thanks Rena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This has become one of my most requested meals!!! I marinate the steak with Club House rub marinade - roasted pepper flavour, and slice the steak very thin. Then I use a creamy cucumber salad dressing!!! An amazing combo of flavours!!! My family won't eat spinach any other way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Charleston Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because my kids picked at it but did not eat the entire thing. My hubby and I however, thought it was great! I was in a hurry when I made this, so I did not take the time to arrange on individual plates. I put everything in a huge bowl and tossed it, then let everyone use salad tongs to serve themselves. Also, I used seasoned almonds instead of walnuts and grape tomatoes instead of sliced because my son picked them out himself at the grocery store. (I thought this would get him to eat more of the salad, but it didn't.) Also, I'm a BIG ranch dressing fan so I used that instead of the recommended citrus dressing. Served with garlic bread on the side, this was one of the best meals I've had recently. I will DEFINITELY put this one in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
this was good and i added the gorgonzola and ken's raspberry dressing from other reviews...i would not use that dressing again-way overpowering. i will use a lemon balsamic vinagrette next time and candied pecans (personal preference). my husband really liked this and he was quite skeptical of a steak salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States