Steak and Kidney Pie with Bacon and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I liked this. Always been a fan of steak and kidney. And the potato top adds an extra dimension. Just linked it to a friend in Auckland,NZ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe differs from the traditional UK version as it is a cross between Shepherds and Steak and Kidney Pies, as it puts pmashed potatoes on top of the meat filling and under the Puff Pastry. The result being soggy pastry. If it were not for this then it would have been given 5 stars. I also added a dash of Worcestershire sauce and Itaian Seasoning to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Like Kathy, I added rosemary and thyme to this dish, and I think it improved it. I also added a few cloves of garlic, crushed. The flavor was great and I enjoyed the mashed potatoes in the pie - however, I found that the bottom crust did not bake and came out gummy, even after baking the pie for a full 30 mins. Next time, I think I'll try partially blind-baking the bottom crust or upping the baking temp to 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It was a good pie because the man I made it for likes kidneys BUT that is the only reason I gave this 4 stars....This recipe taught me that I could live without eating them LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Delicious. Also tried this as a shepherd's pie, browning without the pastry crust and milk as a gluten free recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
great recipe, very tasty. Last time I made this, we were having some friends at home and to fancy it up a bit, I added some chunks of brie cheese in the cold meat mixture. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Honeoye Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Lovely winter food. I made it up into individual pies, using bacon and dried mushrooms (which I soaked in the wine/stock mix to soften before I cooked them). I also added fresh rosemary and thyme (because I had them). The mashed potato inside the pie is a winner - cuts the saltiness of the meat mix beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
it worked on a cold Christchurch NZ night with snow on the ground. I also added some lambs fry (sheeps liver). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States