Steak and Irish Stout Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe was seriously amazing. My husband was in heaven, and the kids liked it too. I think the raisins were a great contrasting taste to the heavy meats. One thing we did do was make the filling ahead of time, since we both work, and then put it into pie crusts and baked it the next evening. You have to bake it longer that way, but it was just as good as the time we made it all at once on a weekend. I didn't pre-bake the pie crust either. I've never really seen the point. Just put tin-foil around the crust edges until the last 10-15 min of baking the pie so they won't overbrown. As always, homemade pie crusts are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leti
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This pie went down so well, people had seconds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Love this! Used less onion and zero mushrooms to suit my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was incredible!! I made this for St. Patrick's Day and my husband said this is a keeper!! I followed everything exactly except I didn't have raisins and I only used 1/2 of a very large onion. The flavor was so good and at the end end of the oven cooking I threw a handful of baby carrots into the pot. I am going to make this again as a regular stew with potatoes too. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saf4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 09, March 2013 ~ I made this for my guys, knowing I would not be trying it. I used 1 pound of round steak and 1 pound of venison. I also had to sub green peppers for the mushrooms as they don’t care for them and omitted the raisins for the same reason. I have never used lard before; therefore I didn’t have any so I used olive oil instead. So, I made the Steak and Irish Stout Pie using the above ingredients, plus the rest listed and the guys LOVED it! They took one bite and said, “Give this one 5-stars”. Because of the length of time it takes to prepare this recipe, I did all the browning and baking of the meats on one night, cooled and refrigerated the dish over night. The next night, I heated the filling and proceeded with the recipe. sassyoldlady, another AR member sent out a reminder about piercing the bottom crust when pre-baking it. That was so helpful, as I would not have done that because the instructions didn’t tell me to do so. I pre-baked the crust, add the filling, minus some of the broth and added the top crust. Mine did take about 20-25 minutes to completely bake. I let the pie rest 10-15 minutes before cutting to let it set up. As I said before, my guys loved it. When they reheated the leftovers, they added a dollop of sour cream and enjoyed it even better that way. Thanks Michael St. Laurent for sharing your recipe – it is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This had good flavor but I don't like needing a side dish for something like this so if I made it again I would add some veggies and more gravy. I made a quarter of this since I had 1/2 pound of very rare steak in the freezer I was looking to use up. I used bacon grease instead of lard and then didn't think the mushrooms were even worth the trouble for such a meager amount so I doubled them(there still weren't too many for me). I didn't know what size/type of onion was intended so I used 3/4 of a large vidalia and that was about right for us. I did not use the raisins. There was a lot of stuck-on "browned bits and flour" in the skillet when done so I sort of deglazed it with the beer to get all the flour in the broth. I used 4 oz instead of 3 oz for the 1/4 recipe and the broth was nice and thick. I made individual pot pies and the bottom crust shrunk a little but was nice and substantial. The whole thing popped right out of the pan. I served it with Scottish Bubbles and Squeak Patties which I left in the mashed form rather than make patties. All this for recipe group 3/16/13 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. I just dusted the cubes with flour until they were all coated. I also salt, pepper, and garlic powder sprinkled the meat first. Not ever having lard here, I put some olive oil in the skillet(by mistake), added about 6 tbsp of bacon grease to go with, and browned the meat. I chopped some already cooked bacon, added that to it. Sauteed one huge vidalia onion that I sliced instead of minced(more would have been good)and added that to the steak. No raisins (hubby would not have eaten this with them in there), and I forgot to pick up some stout, so Bud Lite went in there instead. I didn't remember to put some holes in the crust before blind baking and it split, cracked, and puffed. Added the steak mix in anyway, which I thought was still way too runny. I thickened it with a little flour slurry first. Put on the top crust, vented to release steam, and baked till brown. Upon cutting to serve the bottom crust had pretty much disappeared into the meat mixture. Beer gives this an excellent flavor, much to my surprise. It does need a little something in there, maybe a dash of hot sauce and some Worcestershire for next time. And just a top crust. Loved the flakiness of the pie crust with the rich satisfying flavor of the meat part. All in all, I'd say it is something I would like to make again. Thanks for the recipe! (I did saute some mushrooms for hubby to add to his part :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My family just thought that this recipe was great and have already requested that I make it again. I used a blade roast (cut up into cubes) instead of the steak. One of members had suggested that I do not use the raisins as they would not in the UK/Irleand. I used the pie crust in the pan it came in so as a result I had some that would not fit and it was great on the mashed potatoes I had made. This recipe reminded me of the dishes I had at an Irish/English Pubs that I went with my Dad once a month in Oshawa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...I liked it, but the guys LOVED it! I did do a few things differently though...I didn't have any lard, so I used about 3 Tbsps. butter, 2 onions instead of 5, which seemed like A LOT to me, and no raisins. IMO, this did need some salt and pepper. It's not that this recipe was complicated, b/c it was not, but I just felt like it took me all day to make it, lol...maybe I was just in one of those moods today, lol. Oh, also, it took longer than 15 mins. to finish in the oven, once I put the top crust on (took more like 30 mins.), but that was fine b/c I had the extra time. The flavors are great, and this cut beautifully. I would most likely make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I got this recipe from the Guinness website several years ago, and I've made it many, many times since then. It is our traditional Christmas dinner with Colcannon. Because I always use sweet onions, I do not use the raisins. It takes a while to prepare, but it's definitely worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States