Steak and Bacon Tournedos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
to Joy, I have made this recipe 4 times and have used both basil and tarragon pesto (homemade with lots of parmesan cheese). The basil pesto seems to work the best. I do omit the tenderizer and use beer to marinate the steak over night. Does a great job of tenderizing. I also leave out the parsley because of the pesto. Skirt steak works also but the low cost of flank makes an economical meal and is also fun to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a great main dish for those doing low carb/high protein eating plans, like Atkins or Paleo! As someone else mentioned, add spinach in the roll-up to create "Steak & Bacon Tournedos Florentine". Absolutely brilliant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have made this many times so good I added fresh spinach to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Rowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Sounds delicious...will give it a try next time li'l brother decides to grill...and in reply to NYDee...yes, people DO still eat like this...flank steak may be a "cheap" cut of beef, but it's very lean, (it's the same cut used for fajitas) and the one and 1/4 slices of bacon per serving is not going to do any major damage, health-wise...I see a cardiologist regularly and he says it's perfectly fine to eat bacon, red meat, eggs, etc. in moderation...he's a top-notch doctor, I trust his judgment...I'll enjoy this...and leave the "food snobs" to their own vices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I had forgotten all about this recipe. LOVE it. It's a great way to enjoy beef--especially in this economy! It's not prime rib, but it's an enjoyable dinner. Like others, I used parmesan before, and have also added drained/squeezed frozen spinach. Yum. As for the previous reviewer, yes, people do eat like this. Most of us enjoy it in moderation, with the realization that no food is a bad food--only the choice in how you use it is bad. If you wish to have a discussion about food choices, I'd kindly suggest that you take it to a more appropriate site. This area is for reviewing recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I am not rating this recipe bc I have not made it yet. Upon reading the reviews, most of you are adding "pesto". Can someone tell me what kind of pesto are being used since there are different kinds of pesto out there? TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I followed others suggestion of adding a thin layer of pesto and I think it made the dish. It would probably still be good without it, but it definitely gave it an extra splash of flavor. Tasted like something you'd have in a fine restaurant. I used the bacon that comes pre-cooked which helped cut down on prep time and clean up. Only complaint would be it was a bit salty -- maybe cut back on the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My favorite BBQ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was a nice way to dress up flank steak, and is a good basic recipe for "fine-tuning" to meet your personal tastes. My changes: I didn't have tenderizer, so I decided to marinade for 1.5 hours in 1Tbs red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup canola oil, and 4 big cloves chopped garlic. In addition to the bacon, I added shredded parmesan and thick-sliced mushrooms. I used regular salt instead of seasoned salt, and no garlic powder. I also soaked the toothpicks to prevent burning. Next time I'm going to add either cooked rice or barley, and roasted red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I am a vegetarian but I made these for my bf and he LOVED them. I gave it 4 stars because I couldn't taste them myself and I think 5 stars has to be mind-blowingly delicious. I used sirloin and forgot the parsley. I also used my indoor grill/panini maker. Next time I will make them with some alterations (maybe cheese, grilled garlic) but they apparently were awesome without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States