Starkey's Mashed Potato Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I used to make a similar one for son when he was smaller. I have used sweet potato too and added crumbled sausage to it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
It was ok but not great. I was hoping it would have tasted like the Pierogi Pizza I used to get at home but it was lacking something. I added browned onions on top but still needed something. I will try again after I get a recipe for the filling for Pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
this was good. definitely not something to die for. maybe a white sauce wouldve added more flavor like some people are saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I needed a last minute snack for a card party one night and this couldn't have been easier or tastier! I used a prepared pizza crust, a pack of 4-cheese instant mashed potatoes, a pack of crumbled bacon, and some shredded cheese. I whipped it together in about as much time as it took to prepare the instant mashed potatoes. It was a hit at the card party and even more so with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I expected to love this, but really didn't. I expected to need a bit more seasoning than I would usually put in mashed potatoes, and added it. But the taste was still somehow way too bland for us. I tried adding some corn & spinach to the second batch (like I said, we had expected to love it), but it didn't help either. I think I would have to put on some type of savory white sauce under the potato layer, or pour something over the top to give it some kind of spark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is delicious! I used refrigerated pizza dough, precooked crumbled bacon, a shredded cheese blend and leftover garlic mashed potatoes. Only thing I didn't use was the sour cream and that's because I don't like it. This would be a great breakfast/brunch dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used a Boboli crust, brushed it with olive oil and spinkled a little garlic powder on it. I topped this with regular mashed potatoes. Sauted some onion and added that with the bacon. I used Monteray Jack cheese on top. I used a pizza stone that had already heated and broiled it for about 7 minutes. I thought it was okay, but my SO loved it. Next time I would not use the olive oil - it made the potatoes hard to spread over the crust. Also, I'd use a little more cheese. Will probably make again at my SO's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This pizza is a veritable "starch-a-palooza!" I didn't use all the potato called for (about half), and just had to have my tomato sauce (I choose a sweeter variety with red pepper and mushroom). I mixed it into the potatoes and it did look a little funny (like Playdough), but tasted great once I added the toppings. Used Jalapeno Monterey Jack cheese and skipped the bacon, opting for chopped olives, peppers, mushroom and red onion toppings instead. Next time I'll skip the tomato (maybe use it sundried, as a topping, however), and mix some creamed spinach into the potatoes. Our neighborhood Bertucci's pizza place sells their dough but it doesn't come out quite the same. That probably has to do with the heat capabilities of my oven vs. a commercial, wood fired one. I cut a nice, gluteney sourdough bouille in half, trimmed the bottom to make the sides flat, and brushed the top and bottom with olive oil and broiled lightly in the oven; just until slightly browned; then added the toppings as directed and reheated until cheese was melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I used boxed flavored mashed potato's (sour cream and chive) 1-1 1/2 cups, 1/2 to 3/4 cups of small broccoli pcs, 1 pkg. of bacon (crispy) 1 1/2 to 2 cups of Mozz. chz. also 1 1/2 cups cheddar chz. No need to salt this way. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry LaMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was sooooo good!!! I used the Quick and Easy Pizza Crust recipe from this site and cooked the pizza on our grill outside rather than in the oven. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States