Star Fruit Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I thought this was a fantastic tasting steak considering how easy the marinade was. Sometimes the recipes that taste the best are the simplest to make. I could not find a star fruit at any of the 3 super markets here in town, so I made a judgement call and used a mango. I know what star fruit tastes like and it would have made this an incredible recipe, hence my 5 star rating. The mango is awesome, as well, if you can't find star fruit...I used 1 for 4 steaks and it worked out perfectly. Thanks for submitting such an easy, tasty recipe...we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I used lawry's seasoned salt instead of salt and pepper it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
My husband hates star fruit so we tried another persons recomendation and used strawberry....NOT GOOD! I give this recipe a 3 but I don't see it being any better than the strawberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. My whole family loved it. The only thing I did different was to marinate it for about 30 hours, and add a bit more citrus juice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
fyi: star fruit in season april - sept
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
SO GOOD!!!I DIDN'T HAVE ANY STAR FRUIT SO I USED STRAWBERRIES. WORKED OUT GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
My local grocery store didn't have starfuit so I substituted it with strawberries. I could only marinade for 2 hours so I decided to stuff some bits of strawberry in the steak, like you would with garlic. I dont have a normal grill so I put it on my George Foreman grill for 5 min with the layer of strawberries still on top. The only word to describe this marinade is "Amazing." The simplicity of it all I think is really the best part. The only thing I would change would be to puree some strawberries and put them in the marinade to really get the flavor in the steaks without having to clean mushy and sticky strawberries off the top of the grill. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
An awesome way to use a starfruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States