Stained Glass Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sparmeland
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I really had fun making and "taste-testing" this recipe. I have made them as easter gifts for the kids in my family. Instead of forming hearts as suggested in the recipe, I used cookie cutters and made a very large heart and took out a window using a cross cookie cutter and made the cross the stained glass window for an Easter cookie. I followed the suggestions to increase the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup, the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and cut the milk to 3 TBS. Insteas of foil I use parchment paper and it worked really well. I thought the cookies were pretty and tasty. Using the cookie cutter was tricky so I understand why the recipe has you make strips. If you do choose to use a cookie cutter, I suggest rolling is out on parchment paper removing the excessing and just transferring it directly to the cookie sheet. The parchment paper also helped make the cookies come off the sheet really easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
The dough was very sticky, next time I will use more flour in the dough itself (at least 1/4 cup more). They turned out beautiful, everyone raved about how pretty the cookies turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
My mother and I loved making these cookies! We took the advice from the reviewer who recommended increasing the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup, cutting the milk down to about 3 Tablespoons, and boosting the vanilla to 1 teaspoon. Make sure you use lots of flour while rolling out. Keep the dough chilled. There is no need to break the candy up, unless you want to combine colors; we found that both lifesavers and jolly rancher candies melted completely just as they are. DO use aluminum foil instead of putting the cookies directly in the cookie sheet. DO spray Pam on the foil. The cookies will come off the foil easily once they are cooled. And you can re-use that foil, too, for a second round. Finally, we increased our baking time to about 10 minutes. At 6 minutes, the dough was not quite done to our taste. A truly beautiful (and tastey) result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is a great recipe for kids around the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Great recipe! I used ready-to-go sugar cookie dough from the supermarket, and clear candies, as I was making a "window" for a Toy Story birthday cake! It came out perfectly!! Awesome concept!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Kimble
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I went a little heavy on the sugar, a little light on the milk, had to add tons of flour while rolling them out, but I always have to do that with sugar cookies for some reason. They turned out great! I used cookie cutters to get my shapes in them, and Jolly Ranchers as the insides. I wish I would've made my "windows" larger, but the recipe is fine, and I will definately use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kimble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Strwbrrykizzes
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These are amazing! They are so beautiful, what a cute cookie to give out for the holidays (which is what I'm doing!) The only problem I had was the candy sticking to the wax paper, but I got it off by wetting it and it peeled right off. Next time I think I'll use the silicone baking mat, nothing seems to stick to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe is awesome! The only thing I might suggest is spliting up the dough into 3 sections, wrapping it up with wax paper, and chilling it for a half hour to forty-five minutes before you roll it out. You also might want to use parchment paper instead of foil. You don't have to grease it or anything. You also might want to roll it out on powdered sugar instead of flour. If after you cut your dough with cookie cutters, you like to re-use it... this is good because it prevents the dough from getting too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
These turned out great with the suggested modifications..more sugar and less milk..LOTS of flour on the table. The first batch I put too much jolly rancher in each; a thin layer is sufficient. Overall though they were very cute, great for holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
absolutely wonderful! i did increase the sugar to 1 1/4 cup...decreased the milk and increased the vanilla like a couple of the other users did...i did add a 1/2 cup more flour as well....i used halloween cookie cutters...the pumpkins looked awesome with orange in the middle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States